2018/19 Season

Das Opernstudio der Bayerischen Staatsoper 2018/19
The Opera Studio 2018/19 (© Julian Baumann)

In the season 2006/07 the Bayerische Staatsoper founded a new young artists program - the Opera Studio. This program supports highly talented young artists and prepares them for an international career in step with actual practice. Now under the new general manager Nikolaus Bachler this promotion of young artists continues to play an important role in the success of the Bayerische Staatsoper.

The Opera Studio program runs one to two seasons and consists of role studies, vocal lessons, acting and movement classes as well as language training. The young artists are cast for small roles in productions on the main stage and take part in several concert projects, which they create together with the opera studio pianists (Alessandro Stefanelli and André Callegaro). They also work together with professional singers and conductors and have the opportunity to attend main stage rehearsals and performances. Workshops with staff members from different departments of the Staatsoper on subjects like career development complete the training program.

The past seasons, Mozart’s Così fan tutte, Rossini's La Cenerentola, Haydn's La fedeltà premiata, Leoš Janáček's The Cunning Little Vixen, Hans Werner Henze's Elegy for Young Lovers, Mirandolina by Bohuslav Martinů, Gioachino Rossini's Le Comte Ory and Benjamin Britten’s Albert Herring were premiered at the Cuvilliés Theatre. This season Der Diktator / Der zerbrochene Krug are coming on stage. The 2018/19 season the opera studio will perform Mavra/Iolanta.

The members of the Opera Studio are employed through the German union contract (NV Bühne) and are paid the corresponding entrance salary. For performances in productions on the main stage, members receive an additional flat-rate fee depending on the size of the role. The Bayerische Staatsoper reserves an option for future engagement of the young artists into the ensemble of the Bayerische Staatsoper.

The Opera Studio is supported by

Dr. Arnold und Emma Bahlmann, Astrid Bscher, Rolf und Caroli Dienst, Vera und Volker Doppelfeld-Stiftung, Dr. Dierk und Veronika Ernst, Christa Fassbender, Dr. Joachim Feldges, Freunde des Nationaltheaters e.V., Oliver und Claudia Götz, Dirk und Marlene Ippen, Christine und Marco Janezic, Dr. Hans-Dieter Koch und Silvie Katalin Varga, LfA Förderbank Bayern, Ligne Roset FÜNF HÖFE,  Eugénie Rohde, Schwarz Foundation, Georg und Swantje von Werz