FESTIVAL EXHIBITION JONNY NIESCHE


With a focus on the interplay of light, color and architecture, Jonny Niesche, the festival artist of the Munich Opera Festival 2024, approaches the classicist building of the Bavarian State Opera with his painterly intervention. To coincide with the opening of this year's Munich Opera Festival, he is dressing the architecture of the National Theater in his work. Inside, there are three-dimensional, square pictures showing a pastel color spectrum and arranged geometrically on the floor of the Königssaal. The interfaces between the interior and exterior space - the windows of the King's Hall - are covered with gold foil, carrying the splendor of the King's Hall to the outside and creating a warm, shimmering, soft light inside. Recently created works are presented on the walls of the artificially lit corridors, which also house the portrait gallery of the Bavarian State Opera. On the outside, large, pastel-colored, blue-pink prints cover the Ionic columns of the National Theater's portal.

 
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke

Niesche's long-standing fascination with the essence of painting - the visual effect created by applying paint to flat material surfaces - is rooted in Josef Albers' color theory. In his book The Interaction of Colour (1963), the German painter distinguishes between the physical reality of a color (factual fact) and its physiological effect (actual fact). Since Albers emigrated to the United States during the Second World War, where he was able to continue his teaching career, a young generation of American Minimal artists became familiar with his approach to color. Niesche's work is deeply inspired by the legacy of American painting, which goes back to Albers' artistic approach, as well as Frank Stella's square works. Against the backdrop of painting's modernist pursuit of the medium-specificity of art, which clung to the traditional canvas as the medium of painting, the latter has increasingly lost its specific medial character since postmodernism. Seen in this light, Niesche's site-specific installation presents us with the question of what constitutes contemporary painting today on a golden platter.

 

 
Jonny Niesche, abyss (munich), 2024
Jonny Niesche, well (munich), 2024
Jonny Niesche, sky (munich), 2024

Jonny Niesche's work has long been inspired by fashion, cosmetics and music. 

To mark the Munich Opera Festival 2024, the limited edition "staring at the sky (munich)" was created with Jonny Niesche and in cooperation with the Viennese edition gallery Collectors Agenda. It draws on three of Jonny Niesche's most recent and visually strongest works, which were selected to visually accompany the Munich Opera Festival 2024. The title of the edition is derived from the leitmotif of the 2023/24 season, which goes back to a quote by the Portuguese poet and writer Fernando Pessoa, who mused on the dichotomy of the human soul when he wrote: "We are two abysses. A well that looks into the sky." Accordingly, each individual motif in the edition takes up a key word from the quote: abyss (munich), well (munich) and sky (munich).

staring at the sky (munich), 2024
Screen print, ceramic pigment fired on glass, silver paint
33 x 29,5 cm
Edition of 15 + 3 AP (per motif)
2.200 Euro, incl. 13% VAT.
MORE INFORMATION

 

© Courtesy of Jonny Niesche and Zeller van Almsick, 2023

JONNY NIESCHE

The festival artist for the 2024 Munich Opera Festival is Australian artist Jonny Niesche. Based on the visual frame of reference of the glam rock era and its cosmetics-driven counterculture, Niesche creates paintings, sculptures and installations that deal intensively with the perception of color, surface and spatiality. Jonny Niesche's works can be seen on the posters for the Munich Opera Festival 2024. Niesche is also designing the Nationaltheater's portal to the opera festival.

Photos © Courtesy of Jonny Niesche and Zeller van Almsick, 2023

Festspiel-Ausstellung Jonny Niesche


Mit Fokus auf das Zusammenspiel von Licht, Farbe und Architektur nähert sich Jonny Niesche, der Festspielkünstler der Münchner Opernfestspiele 2024, mit seiner malerischen Intervention dem klassizistischen Gebäude der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Zeitgleich mit der Eröffnung der diesjährigen Münchner Opernfestspiele kleidet er die Architektur des Nationaltheaters in seine Arbeit. Im Inneren befinden sich dreidimensionale, quadratische Bilder, die ein pastellenes Farbspektrum zeigen und geometrisch auf dem Boden des Königssaals angeordnet sind. Dabei sind die Schnittstellen zwischen Innen- und Außenraum – die Fenster des Königssaals – mit Goldfolie belegt, die den Prunk des Königssaals nach außen tragen und im Inneren ein warm schimmerndes, weiches Licht erzeugen. Kürzlich entstandene Arbeiten werden an den Wänden der künstlich beleuchteten Korridore, in denen sich auch die Porträtgalerie der Bayerischen Staatsoper befindet, präsentiert. Auf der Außenseite verhüllen große, pastellfarbene, blau-rosa Drucke die ionischen Säulen des Portals des Nationaltheaters.

 
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke
©Dirk Tacke

Niesches langjährige Faszination für die Essenz der Malerei – die visuelle Wirkung, die durch das Auftragen von Farbe auf flache Materialoberflächen entsteht – wurzelt in Josef Albers’Farbtheorie. In seinem Buch The Interaction of Colour (1963) unterscheidet der deutsche Maler zwischen der physischen Realität einer Farbe (faktische Tatsache) und ihrer physiologischen Wirkung (tatsächliche Tatsache). Da Albers während des Zweiten Weltkriegs in die Vereinigten Staaten emigrierte, wo er seine Lehrtätigkeit fortsetzen konnte, wurde eine junge Generation amerikanischer Minimalkünstler mit seinem Umgang mit Farbe vertraut gemacht. Das Werk von Niesche ist tief inspiriert vom Erbe der amerikanischen Malerei, die auf Albers' künstlerischen Ansatz zurückgeht, sowie von Frank Stellas quadratischen Arbeiten. Vor dem Hintergrund des modernistischen Strebens der Malerei nach der Medienspezifität der Kunst, das an der traditionellen Leinwand als Träger der Malerei festgehalten hat, hat diese seit der Postmoderne zunehmend ihren spezifischen medialen Charakter verloren. In diesem Licht betrachtet, präsentiert uns die ortsspezifische Installation von Niesche die Frage, was zeitgenössische Malerei heute ausmacht auf dem goldenen Tablett.

 
Jonny Niesche, abyss (munich), 2024
Jonny Niesche, well (munich), 2024
Jonny Niesche, sky (munich), 2024

Jonny Niesche lässt sich in seiner Arbeit schon seit längerem von Mode, Kosmetik und Musik inspirieren. 

Anlässlich der Münchner Opernfestspiele 2024 ist mit Jonny Niesche und in Kooperation mit der Wiener Editionsgalerie Collectors Agenda die limitierte Edition „staring at the sky (munich)“ entstanden. Sie greift auf drei der jüngsten und visuell stärksten Werke von Jonny Niesche zurück, die ausgewählt wurden, um die Münchner Opernfestspiele 2024 visuell zu begleiten. Der Titel der Edition leitet sich aus dem Leitmotiv der Spielzeit 2023/24 ab, welches auf ein Zitat des portugiesischen Dichters und Schriftstellers Fernando Pessoa zurückgeht, der über die Dichotomie der menschlichen Seele sinnierte, als er schrieb: „Wir sind zwei Abgründe. Ein Brunnen, der in den Himmel schaut.“ Dementsprechend greift jedes einzelne Motiv der Edition ein Schlüsselwort aus dem Zitat auf: abyss (munich), well (munich) und sky (munich).

staring at the sky (munich), 2024
Siebdruck, Keramikpigment auf Glass gebrannt, Silberfarbe
33 x 29,5 cm
Edition von 15 + 3 AP (je Motiv)
2.200 Euro, inkl. 13% MwSt.
MEHR INFORMATIONEN

 

© Courtesy of Jonny Niesche and Zeller van Almsick, 2023

JONNY NIESCHE

Festspielkünstler der Münchner Opernfestspiele 2024 ist der australische Künstler Jonny Niesche. Ausgehend vom visuellen Referenzrahmen der Glam Rock-Ära und ihrer von Kosmetik geprägten Gegenkultur, schafft Niesche Gemälde, Skulpturen und Installationen, die sich intensiv mit der Wahrnehmung von Farbe, Oberfläche und Räumlichkeit auseinandersetzen. Jonny Niesche’s Arbeiten sind auf den Plakaten der Münchner Opernfestspiele 2024 zu sehen. Darüberhinaus gestaltet Niesche das Portal des Nationaltheaters zu den Opernfestspielen. 

Bilder © Courtesy of Jonny Niesche and Zeller van Almsick, 2023