With the #CreatorsForDiversity 2021 support programme, TikTok also called on German cultural institutions for the first time to become an active part of this young and vibrant social media network. “Become ‘Creators for Diversity’, create diversity-themed short videos on TikTok and show us who and what make up and enrich your institution” – that was the task at hand.

One defined goal of the Bayerische Staatsoper’s new digital strategy is to get to grips with digital trends and technologies with regard to their cultural potential. General Manager Serge Dorny therefore decided together with his Communication and Outreach Team on an application for funding, and thanks to an idea-rich concept secured additional funding assistance.

“We want to evaluate digital trends with regard to their cultural potential.”

Since September, we have therefore been posting a whole lot of “content” on our new TikTok channel. Content, so in the TikTok universe short music videos with quick cuts, poppy sounds and constantly enriched with text or emoji cross-fades. Our videos are sometimes more and sometimes less profound, not always to be taken so seriously and often with a wink and a nudge – but they always take a loving look behind the scenes of our institution and provide our artists and performers a new experimental stage.

 

Along with exploring TikTok trends, a key idea of the concept is also a serious and artistic examination of the diversity topic. During the course of the funding project, we therefore specifically invite directors to thoughtfully, personally and of course also critically get to grips with everything to do with diversity.

With this in mind, the enriching collaboration with director Caner Akdeniz came into being in autumn 2021. For Caner, diversity at our opera house doesn’t just entail the fact that performers of the most diverse nationalities stand together on the stage every day. It also represents the diversity of the people that have been employed with us for many years now, but who are never actually seen or noticed by the audience.

“The stage behind the stage”

The video series, “The stage behind the stage”, designed and implemented by Caner Akdeniz, presents four Bayerische Staatsoper employees at their work. Each of them is busy every single day with the opera’s content, whether they want to or not. Whether it’s being there at rehearsals, when cleaning staff member Athina Theodoridou mops the floor of the auditorium. Whether it’s putting out the advertising materials in the magnificent halls and rooms, a task that Ilias Ziakas performs every day. Whether it’s the fire prevention patrol through the building, with which Michael Lamprecht ensures a safe workplace for our performers and co-workers. Whether it’s the dependence on the programme, which Ognjen Dudić must adhere to as the chef who knows only too well when which performance is running and which meal will be just right for the respective intermission length. These four people from different work areas are directly influenced by the artistic creativity at the opera, by the number of people in the audience, and by what’s happening on the stage.

Caner Akdeniz observes these people and manages to bring their connection with the opera house to life with impressive images. In informal, long chats, the director first got to know the people he had in front of him, and observed characteristics that he connected with key opera figures – such as Siegfried, Faust or Parsifal. Caner visualised this connection in short videos: with actions that happen with their work, with symbolic objects that are used every day, but also with looks and conveyed emotions of the people who have now become actors. The patience and honest interest Caner Akdeniz meets his counterparts with makes them proud representatives of our opera house. With devotion, they show what their everyday involves, allow the director to be part of personal experiences and bring their own ideas to the film project. And at the end, although they’ve sacrificed a few of their own free hours, filmed scenes several times and have committed themselves beyond that required, they then thank their director – for his interest in their work. For the recognition that without it the opera would function just as little as it would without the stars out on the big stage.

Discovering "the stage behind the stage"

Art videos like this are truly something new for the TikTok platform. And admittedly, despite the most diverse hashtag combinations and the “right” posting time (in the evening, between 8 pm and 10 pm, no insider tip), the algorithm doesn’t absorb them very well. Because they are longer than the recommended 15 seconds, perhaps? Because they use so-called “original sounds”, so in-house recordings of the Bayerisches Staatsorchester, instead of one of the currently trending sounds, perhaps? Our #hinterderbühne series doesn’t follow any of the usual TikTok trends. And nevertheless there are enthusiastic reactions to the videos, such as, “moving” or “really cool”! Occasionally the TikTok followers therefore recognise that these are more than just short trend videos. They are videos that try out something new, which transcend the platform’s boundaries, and the boundaries within our institution’s hierarchy. And this is seen and applauded.

This experiment was made possible by the #CreatorsForDiversity support programme. We can of course think what we will about the flashy new platform and no doubt for many people past their 20s it seems rather more like a bundling of hysterical banalities than it does a symbol of rich-in-substance cultural pleasure. But for precisely this reason, we as the Bayerische Staatsoper sound out the boundaries between these poles with enthusiasm and curiosity and enjoy discovering unchartered territory.

Interested in exploring this new territory together with us? Then we cordially invite you to visit us on TikTok, follow our feed and watch on for the remaining weeks of our experiment. We’ll be posting further art videos with different directors and performers, but will also continue to have fun here, following frivolous trends and simply romping away a little. The feed shows the range of our diverse institution with the help of the Costume and Make-up department and to some degree the TikTok-savvy younger members of the Opera Studio or the Bayerisches Staatsballett.

You’ll find us here

Visit our TikTok feed here

Any questions or suggestions?
Please feel free to write an e-mail to Henriette von Schnakenburg (TikTok Project Manager) or Kathrin Zeitler (Digital Strategy Manager): onlineredaktion@staatsoper.de
We look forward to your feedback!

TikTok rief mit dem Förderprogramm #CreatorsForDiversity 2021 erstmals auch deutsche Kulturinstitutionen dazu auf, aktiver Teil des jungen Social Media-Netzwerks zu werden. „Werdet ‚Creators for Diversity‘, kreiert auf TikTok Kurz-Videos zum Thema Diversität und zeigt uns, wer und was Eure Institution ausmacht und bereichert“ – so lautete die Aufgabenstellung.

Ein definiertes Ziel der neuen Digitalstrategie der Bayerischen Staatsoper ist es, sich mit digitalen Trends auseinanderzusetzen und Technologien mit Hinblick auf ihr kulturelles Potenzial zu bewerten. So entschied sich Staatsintendant Serge Dorny gemeinsam mit seinem Kommunikations- und Outreach-Team für eine Bewerbung – und konnte dank eines ideenreichen Konzepts den Förderzuschlag für sich gewinnen.

„Wir möchten digitale Trends mit Hinblick auf ihr kulturelles Potenzial bewerten.“

Seit September veröffentlichen wir daher eine Menge „Content“ auf unserem neu eingerichteten TikTok-Kanal. Content, das bedeutet im TikTok-Universum kurzweilige Musik-Videos mit schnellen Schnitten, poppigen Sounds und immer angereichert mit Text- oder Emoji-Überblendungen. Unsere Videos sind mal mehr und mal weniger tiefgründig, nicht immer ganz ernst zu nehmen und oft mit einem Augenzwinkern – sie werfen aber immer einen liebevollen Blick hinter die Kulissen unseres Hauses und geben unseren Künstler:innen eine neue experimentelle Bühne.

Neben der Auslotung von TikTok-Trends ist eine zentrale Idee des Konzepts aber auch eine ernstzunehmende und künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Diversität. So laden wir im Zuge des Förderprojekts gezielt Regisseur:innen dazu ein, sich mit dem Thema Diversität an unserem Haus gedankenvoll, persönlich und gerne auch kritisch auseinanderzusetzen.

Aus diesem Gedanken heraus entstand die bereichernde Zusammenarbeit mit Regisseur Caner Akdeniz im Herbst 2021. Für Caner bedeutet Diversität an unserem Opernhaus nicht nur die Tatsache, dass Künstler:innen verschiedenster Nationalitäten tagtäglich auf der Bühne stehen. Sondern eben auch die Diversität der Menschen, die seit Jahren am Haus angestellt sind, aber eigentlich nie vom Publikum wahrgenommen werden.

„Die Bühne hinter der Bühne“

Die Videoreihe „Die Bühne hinter der Bühne“, konzipiert und umgesetzt von Caner Akdeniz, zeigt vier Angestellte der Bayerischen Staatsoper bei ihrer Arbeit. Jede:r von ihnen beschäftigt sich tagtäglich mit den Inhalten der Oper, ob sie es wollen oder nicht. Sei es das Dabeisein bei Proben, wenn Reinigungskraft Athina Theodoridou den Boden des Zuschauerraums wischt. Sei es das Auslegen von Werbematerialien in den Prunksälen, eine Aufgabe, die Ilias Ziakas jeden Tag vornimmt. Sei es der Brandwachrundgang durchs Haus, durch den Michael Lamprecht unseren Künstler:innen und Mitarbeiter:innen einen sicheren Arbeitsplatz gewährt. Sei es die Abhängigkeit vom Spielplan, der Ognjen Dudić als Koch ausgesetzt ist, der ganz genau weiß, wann welche Vorstellung läuft und für welche Mahlzeit sich die jeweilige Pausenlänge lohnt. Diese vier Menschen aus vier verschiedenen Arbeitsbereichen sind direkt vom künstlerischen Schaffen an der Oper beeinflusst, von der Anzahl an Menschen im Publikum, von dem Geschehen auf der Bühne.

Caner Akdeniz beobachtet diese Menschen und schafft es, ihre Verbindung zum Opernhaus mit eindrucksvollen Bildern zum Leben zu erwecken. In vertrauten, langen Gesprächen lernte der Regisseur die Menschen, die er da vor sich hat, im Vorfeld kennen und beobachtete Eigenschaften, die er mit bedeutenden Opernfiguren in Verbindung brachte – wie Siegfried, Faust oder Parsifal. Diese Verbindung visualisierte Caner in den kurzen Videos – durch Aktionen, die bei der Arbeit geschehen, durch symbolische Gegenstände, die tagtäglich verwendet werden, aber auch durch Blicke und vermittelte Emotionen der nun zu Schauspieler:innen gewordenen Menschen. Durch die Geduld und das ehrliche Interesse, das Caner Akdeniz seinem Gegenüber entgegenbringt, werden diese zu stolzen Repräsentant:innen des Opernhauses. Sie zeigen mit Hingabe, woraus ihr Alltag besteht, lassen den Regisseur an persönlichen Erlebnissen teilhaben und bringen ihre eigenen Ideen in das Filmprojekt ein. Und am Ende – obwohl sie eigene, freie Stunden geopfert haben, Szenen mehrfach gedreht und sich über die Maße engagiert haben – bedanken sie sich bei ihrem Regisseur. Für das Interesse, an ihrer Arbeit. Für die Erkenntnis, dass ohne sie die Oper genauso wenig funktionieren würde, wie ohne die Stars vorne auf der großen Bühne.

"Die Bühne hinter der Bühne" entdecken

Solche Kunstvideos sind für die Plattform TikTok wahrlich etwas Neues. Und zugegeben: der Algorithmus nimmt sie trotz verschiedenster Hashtag-Kombinationen und „richtigem“ Veröffentlichungszeitpunkt (abends, zwischen 20 und 22 Uhr, kein Geheimtipp) nicht gut auf. Vielleicht weil sie länger als die empfohlenen 15 Sekunden sind? Vielleicht, weil sie sogenannte „Originalsounds“ verwenden, also eigene Aufnahmen vom Bayerischen Staatsorchester, anstatt einen der gerade trendigen Sounds? Unsere Reihe #hinterderbühne bedient keinen der üblichen TikTok-Trends. Und trotzdem gibt es auf die Videos begeisterte Reaktionen wie: „berührend“ oder „so cool gemacht!“ Vereinzelt erkennen die TikTok-Anhänger also, dass es sich hier um mehr als kurze Trendvideos handelt. Es handelt sich um Videos, die etwas Neues ausprobieren, die Grenzen der Plattform aber auch Grenzen innerhalb der Hierarchie unserer Institution aufbrechen. Und das wird gesehen und honoriert.

Dass dieses Experiment möglich ist, haben wir der Förderung #CreatorsForDiversity zu verdanken. Man mag von der jungen, schrillen Plattform halten, was man will und sicherlich fühlt sie sich für viele Menschen jenseits der 20er eher wie eine Ansammlung hysterischer Banalitäten als ein Sinnbild für inhaltsreichen Kulturgenuss an. Aber gerade deshalb loten wir als Bayerische Staatsoper mit Begeisterung und Neugierde die Grenzen zwischen diesen Polen aus und genießen es, Neuland zu entdecken.

Haben auch Sie Interesse daran, dieses Neuland gemeinsam mit uns zu betreten? Dann laden wir Sie herzlich dazu ein, uns auf TikTok zu besuchen, unserem Kanal zu folgen und die weiteren Wochen unseres Experiments zu beobachten. Wir werden weitere Kunstvideos mit verschiedenen Regisseur:innen und Darstellenden veröffentlichen, aber auch weiterhin Spaß dabei haben, sinnfreie Trends zu bedienen und uns einfach auszutoben. Mit Hilfe der Kostüm- und Maskenabteilung sowie den teilweise selbst TikTok-affinen jungen Mitgliedern des Opernstudios oder des Bayerischen Staatsballetts zeigt der Kanal die Bandbreite unseres vielseitigen Hauses.