Composer Giacomo Puccini. Libretto after Abbé Prévost's novel "Histoire du Chevalier Des Grieux et de Manon Lescaut" by Ruggiero Leoncavallo, Marco Praga, Domenico Oliva, Luigi Illica, Giuseppe Giacosa, Giulio Ricordi and Giuseppe Adami.

Opera in four acts - 1839

recommended for 15 years and older

In Italian with German and English surtitles.


Puccini portrays Manon as a seemingly self-confident woman who, driven by the desire for luxury, prefers wealth to true feelings. The fateful odyssey of Manon is told sketchily, as she lives in a world defined more by cracks than by kisses. In the end, Manon and her lover Des Grieux arrive in the New Orleans desert, wandering "alone, lost, forsaken" toward their certain death, driven by thirst and weakened by terrible fever. Here, and only here, can they finally love each other. Before Manon's life is extinguished, however, she professes her eternal love: "My sins... will be forgotten, but my love will not die..."


  • Bayerisches Staatsorchester
  • Chorus of the Bayerische Staatsoper