The Bayerische Staatsoper has been documenting its excellence, diversity and tradition with its very own label since May 2021: Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings.

Discover selected opera productions and concert recordings, as well as important archive pieces as CDs or DVDs on the Bayerische Staatsoper’s new label – BSOrec. Productions from the KIDS & CO programme for children and young people and chamber music editions, which will offer first-class Bayerisches Staatsorchester ensembles a platform, complete the label’s offering.

You’ll find the full BSOrec programme and order CDs and DVDs in our Operashop here.

Any questions or suggestions?

Write to us: [email protected]

ELIAS

This is the first historic recording from the archive on the Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings label: Felix Mendelssohn's Elias under the musical direction of Wolfgang Sawallisch from 1984. This concert recording brings together a top-class ensemble of singers such as Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Margaret Price, Brigitte Fassbaender, Peter Schreier and Kurt Moll, all of whom have left their mark on the Bayerische Staatsoper - in some cases over decades.

The performance of Felix Mendelssohn's Elias opened the 1984 Munich Opera Festival and was also the opening event of the 88th German Catholic Day. The then State Opera Director and General Music Director Wolfgang Sawallisch set an example: With a sacred oratorio, he demonstrated the stylistic versatility of the Bayerische Staatsorchester, which is based at the National Theater, and with the work of a Protestant-baptized composer of Jewish origin in the context of a Catholic event, he sent out a widely noticed ecumenical signal.

BUY NOW

 

 

ANDREA CHÉNIER

Andrea Chénier, premiered in 1896, is rightly considered a major work of verismo: with this melodrama about the historical figure of a poet in the turmoil of the French Revolution, composer Umberto Giordano created his emotionally charged masterpiece.

Director Philipp Stölzl, who is known for his imaginative, detailed and expressive directing style, made his debut at the Bayerische Staatsoper with this opera in 2017. The singing cast is also spectacular. Jonas Kaufmann and Anja Harteros, the opera dream couple par excellence, can thus be seen together for the fourth time in a new Munich production. Through fortunate circumstances, two performances of the revival series - which, like the premiere series, was completely sold out - were recorded in the same year. This document of a stirring, inspiring opera interpretation is now immortalized on DVD and Blu-ray.

BUY NOW

 

 

MUNICH OPERA HORNS: VOYAGER


Under the title Voyager, the hornists embark on a sound journey from the origins of their instrument to contemporary music for the modern valve horn. The MunichOpera Horns draw their sound from an awareness of their past and continue to develop the horn's expressive possibilities. In doing so, they play original works for their instrument family, create arrangements of classics from their repertoire (including the second horn concerto by Richard Strauss and a paraphrase from his opera Daphne), and present entirely new works composed for them. With astonishing virtuosity and tonal delicacy, this ensemble sets new standards.

BUY NOW 

 

RADIO PLAY: der mondbär

The children's play Der Mondbär is now available as an audio play for the home. It is the first release of our in-house label Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings for children. The production based on the well-known children's book by Rolf Fänger and Ulrike Möltgen playfully combines this story with opera and music.

The little bear has a best friend: the moon. He wants to have him all to himself and takes him into his cave, but the other animals miss the moon and go in search of him. Because the moon shines for everyone and belongs to no one completely and exclusively. This picture book by Rolf Fänger and Ulrike Möltgen tells of friendship, owning, sharing and letting go.

BUY NOW

The radio play Der Mondbär is now also available digitally

 

OPERCUSSION: ORIGINAL GROOVES 


On the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the Bayerische Staatsorchester, a series of publications by outstanding ensembles will be released, documenting the versatility of the orchestra and its members. The first release is by the ensemble OPERcussion, the percussionists of the Bayerische Staatsorchester, founded in 2009.

Original Grooves is a journey to the origins and traditions of percussion. In Latin America in particular, the percussive tradition is an integral part of both religious rituals and popular festive dances and appears in many different guises and playing styles . From Cuba to Mexico to Argentina and Brazil the album is a musical journey through Latin America and shows the musical richness of the continent in classics like Bossa Nova, Tango or Son Cubano.

BUY NOW 

 

IGOR STRAVINSKY / PJOTR I. TSCHAIKOVSKI: MAVRA/IOLANTA

The Opera Studio of the Bavarian State Opera on DVD for the first time! Together with the young singers of the Opera Studio of the Bavarian State Opera, director Axel Ranisch presents an unusual approach to two rarely performed works: In Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky's last opera Iolanta, a blind princess searches for the reasons for her sadness and finds love. In Igor Stravinsky's neoclassical buffa one-act Mavra, an inventive young woman has a risky idea and smuggles her lover into her mother's house disguised as a cook. With great love for his characters and an impressive sense for the relationships between them, Ranisch weaves both works into an enchanting coming-of-age tale about family, love, realization and self-determination: Mavra and Iolanta becomes Mavra / Iolanta.

PRE-ORDER NOW

 

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN: SYMPHONY NO. 2 / BRETT DEAN: TESTAMENT
 

It was a special moment, the 1st Academy Concert of the Bavarian State Orchestra last season: one of the first public concerts after the closing of the concert halls in 2020 and only the second concert under the direction of Vladimir Jurowski as designated General Music Director. The program included Ludwig van Beethoven's revolutionary Second Symphony and the corresponding contemporary work Testament by Australian composer Brett Dean. Experience the live recording of this concert now on CD!

BUY NOW

 

THE SNOW QUEEN

The Snow Queen is Hans Abrahamsen's first opera composed for the phenomenal soprano Barbara Hannigan, based on Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale. Barbara Hannigan is joined by Rachael Wilson, Katarina Dalayman and Peter Rose, with Cornelius Meister as music director. Experience the recording of the English premiere at the Bavarian State Opera in a production by Andreas Kriegenburg.

BUY NOW

Trailer - The Snow Queen
 

AWARDS FOR THE SNOW QUEEN

THE DEAD CITY
 

Conducted by Kirill Petrenko and now on DVD and Blu-ray
Just a few weeks before the successful world premiere of Die tote Stadt, none other than Giacomo Puccini himself described Erich Wolfgang Korngold, only 23 at the time, as the “greatest hope of new German music”. And you can also have Korngold’s opera in your home right now!
The Die tote Stadt DVD in Simon Stone’s staging, which, conducted by Kirill Petrenko, celebrated a premiere on 18 November 2019, is available since 16 July 2021.
You’ll enjoy Jonas Kaufmann and Marlis Petersen in the main roles.

BUY NOW 

 

Trailer - The Dead City by Erich Wolfgang Korngold
 

AWARDS FOR THE DEAD CITY

GUSTAV MAHLER: SYMPHONY NO. 7

This album is the first release from the Bayerische Staatsoper label -Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings. This live recording of Gustav Mahler's 7th Symphony from the National Theater in Munich reveals a dramatic interpretation of one of the summit works of the late Romantic orchestral repertoire. Here we witness an orchestra intimately familiar with its conductor telling an epic story beyond all symphonic power and brilliance: an unforgettable musical moment and a unique sonic experience.

BUY NOW

Trailer - Symphony NO. 7 by Gustav Mahler
 

AWARDS FOR GUSTAV MAHLER: SYMPHONY NO. 7

FURTHER INFOS ON OUR PUBLICATIONS

The background information and essays included in the stylish and elaborate hardcover booklets complement the technologically advanced audio-visual experience.

Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings is set up as commissioned by the Bayerische Staatsoper and Bayerisches Staatsorchester Konzert GmbH. The NAXOS MUSIC GROUP is responsible for the global bricks and mortar and digital sales. The Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings offering is available on CD, DVD and Blu-ray and with all major digital providers, such as Amazon Music, Apple Music, Deezer, Idagio, Napster or Spotify, and in specialist outlets.

THE BSOREC TEAM

THE BSOREC TEAM

General Manager  Benedikt Don Strohmeier
Label management Anne Kraus

Distributed by NAXOS DEUTSCHLAND
Musik & Video Vertriebs-GmbH
www.naxos.de

Seit Mai 2021 dokumentiert die Bayerische Staatsoper ihre Exzellenz, Vielseitigkeit und Tradition mit einem neuen hauseigenen Label: Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings.

Entdecken Sie ausgewählte Opernproduktionen und Konzertmitschnitte sowie bedeutende Archivaufnahmen als CD oder DVD/BD unter dem neuen Label der Bayerischen Staatsoper: BSOrec. Auch Produktionen aus dem Kinder- und Jugendprogramm KIND & CO sowie kammermusikalische Editionen, welche erstklassigen Ensembles des Bayerischen Staatsorchesters eine Plattform bieten sollen, vervollständigen das Angebot des Labels.

Finden Sie hier das gesamte Angebot von BSOrec und bestellen Sie CDs und DVDs in unserem Opernshop.

Sie haben Fragen oder Anregungen?
Schreiben Sie uns: [email protected] 
 

ELIAS

Es ist die erste historische Aufnahme aus dem Archiv auf dem Label Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings: Felix Mendelssohns Elias unter der Musikalischen Leitung von Wolfgang Sawallisch aus dem Jahr 1984. Dieser Konzertmitschnitt versammelt ein hochkarätiges Ensemble von Sänger:innen wie Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Margaret Price, Brigitte Fassbaender, Peter Schreier und Kurt Moll, die allesamt – teils über Jahrzehnte –die Bayerische Staatsoper geprägt haben.

Die Aufführung von Felix Mendelssohns Elias eröffnete die Münchner Opernfestspiele 1984 und war zugleich Auftaktveranstaltung des 88. Deutschen Katholikentags. Der damalige Staatsoperndirektor und Generalmusikdirektor Wolfgang Sawallisch setzte ein Zeichen: Mit einem geistlichen Oratorium bewies er die stilistische Vielseitigkeit des im Nationaltheater beheimateten Bayerischen Staatsorchesters, und mit dem Werk eines protestantisch getauften Komponisten jüdischer Herkunft im Kontext eines katholischen Ereignisses sandte er ein weithin beachtetes ökumenisches Signal aus.

JETZT KAUFEN

 

ANDREA CHÉNIER

Andrea Chénier, uraufgeführt 1896, gilt zu Recht als Hauptwerk des Verismo: Mit dem Melodramma um die historische Figur eines Dichters in den Wirren der Französischen Revolution schuf der Komponist Umberto Giordano sein emotionsgeladenes Meisterwerk.

Regisseur Philipp Stölzl, der für seine fantasievolle, detailreiche und ausdrucksstarke Regie-Handschrift bekannt ist, gab mit dieser Oper 2017 sein Debüt an der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Spektakulär ist auch die sängerische Besetzung. Jonas Kaufmann und Anja Harteros, das Opern-Traumpaar schlechthin, sind damit zum vierten Mal in einer Münchner Neuproduktion zusammen zu sehen. Durch glückliche Umstände wurden zwei Aufführungen der – wie schon die Premierenserie restlos ausverkauften – Wiederaufnahmeserie noch im selben Jahr mitgeschnitten. Dieses Dokument einer aufwühlenden, begeisternden Operninterpretation ist nun auf DVD und Blu-ray verewigt.

JETZT KAUFEN

 

MUNICH OPERA HORNS: VOYAGER

Unter dem Titel Voyager begeben sich die Hornist:innen auf eine Klangreise von den Ursprüngen ihres Instruments bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik fürs moderne Ventilhorn. Die MunichOpera Horns schöpfen ihren Klang aus dem Bewusstsein für ihre Vergangenheit und entwickeln die Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten des Horns weiter. Dabei spielen sie originale Werke für ihre Instrumentenfamilie, erstellen eigens Arrangements von Klassikern ihres Repertoires (darunter das zweite Hornkonzert von Richard Strauss und einer Paraphrase aus seiner Oper Daphne) und präsentieren ganz neue, für sie selbst komponierte Werke. Mit erstaunlicher Virtuosität und klanglicher Delikatesse setzt dieses Ensemble neue Maßstäbe.

JETZT KAUFEN

 

HÖRSPIEL: DER MONDBÄR


Das Kinderstück Der Mondbär gibt es jetzt auch als Hörspiel für zu Hause. Es ist die erste Veröffentlichung unseres hauseigenen Labels Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings für Kinder. Die Produktion nach dem bekannten Kinderbuch von Rolf Fänger und Ulrike Möltgen verknüpft diese Geschichte spielerisch mit Oper und Musik.

Der kleine Bär hat einen besten Freund: Den Mond. Er möchte ihn ganz für sich alleine haben und holt ihn in seine Höhle, doch die anderen Tiere vermissen den Mond und begeben sich auf die Suche. Denn der Mond leuchtet für alle und gehört niemandem ganz und ausschließlich. Das Bilderbuch von Rolf Fänger und Ulrike Möltgen erzählt von Freundschaft, Besitzen, Teilen und Loslassen.

JETZT KAUFEN

Das Hörspiel Der Mondbär gibt es jetzt auch digital

 

OPERCUSSION: ORIGINAL GROOVES


Anlässlich des 500 jährigen Bestehen des Bayerischen Staatsorchesters erscheint eine Reihe von Veröffentlichungen herausragender Ensembles, die die Vielseitigkeit des Klangkörpers und seiner Mitglieder dokumentieren. Den Auftakt macht das 2009 gegründete Ensemble OPERcussion die Schlagzeuger des Bayerischen Staatsorchesters.

Original Grooves ist eine Reise zu den Ursprüngen und Traditionen des Schlagwerks. Besonders in Lateinamerika ist die perkussive Tradition fester Bestandteil sowohl religiöser Rituale als auch populärer Festtänze und erscheint in vielerlei Gestalt und Spielweisen . Von Kuba über Mexiko nach Argentinien und Brasilien das Album ist eine musikalische Reise durch Lateinamerika und zeigt den musikalischen Reichtum des Kontinents in Klassikern etwa des Bossa Nova, Tango oder Son Cubano.

JETZT KAUFEN 

 

IGOR STRAWINSKY / PJOTR I. TSCHAIKOVSKI: MAVRA/IOLANTA

Das Opernstudio der Bayerischen Staatsoper erstmals auf DVD! Gemeinsam mit den jungen Sängerinnen und Sängern des Opernstudios der Bayerischen Staatsoper präsentiert Regisseur Axel Ranisch einen ungewöhnlichen Zugriff auf zwei selten gespielte Werke: In Pjotr I. Tschaikowskis letzter Oper Iolanta sucht eine blinde Prinzessin nach den Gründen für ihre Traurigkeit und findet die Liebe. In Igor Strawinskys neoklassischem Buffa-Einakter Mavra hat eine erfinderische junge Frau einen riskanten Einfall und schmuggelt ihren Geliebten als Köchin verkleidet ins Haus ihrer Mutter. Mit großer Liebe zu seinen Figuren und beeindruckendem Gespür für die Beziehungen zwischen ihnen verwebt Ranisch beide Werke zu einem zauberhaften Coming-Of-Age-Märchen über Familie, Liebe, Erkenntnis und Selbstbestimmung: Aus Mavra und Iolanta wird Mavra / Iolanta.

JETZT KAUFEN

 

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN: SYMPHONIE NR. 2 / BRETT DEAN: TESTAMENT
 

Es war ein besonderer Moment, das 1. Akademiekonzert des Bayerischen Staatsorchesters vergangene Spielzeit: eines der ersten öffentlichen Konzerte nach Schließung der Konzertsäle 2020 und das erst zweite Konzert unter der Leitung von Vladimir Jurowski als designierter Generalmusikdirektor. Auf dem Programm stand Ludwig van Beethovens revolutionäre zweite Symphonie und das korrespondierende zeitgenössische Werk Testament des australischen Komponisten Brett Dean. Erleben Sie den Live-Mitschnitt dieses Konzerts nun auf CD!

JETZT KAUFEN

 

THE SNOW QUEEN

The Snow Queen ist Hans Abrahamsens erste Oper komponiert für die phänomenale Sopranistin Barbara Hannigan, die auf Hans Christian Andersens Märchen basiert. Neben Barbara Hannigan sind Rachael Wilson, Katarina Dalayman und Peter Rose zu erleben, die musikalische Leitung hat Cornelius Meister inne. Erleben Sie den Mitschnitt der englischen Uraufführung an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in einer Inszenierung von Andreas Kriegenburg.

JETZT KAUFEN

Trailer - The Snow Queen
 

Auszeichnungen für THE SNOW QUEEN

DIE TOTE STADT
 

Unter der musikalischen Leitung von Kirill Petrenko jetzt auf DVD und Blu-ray

Wenige Wochen vor der erfolgreichen Uraufführung von Die tote Stadt bezeichnete kein Geringerer als Giacomo Puccini den damals 23-jährigen Erich Wolfgang Korngold als „die stärkste Hoffnung der neuen deutschen Musik“. Ab sofort gibt es Korngolds Oper auch für Sie zu Hause!
Erleben Sie Jonas Kaufmann und Marlis Petersen in der Inszenierung von Simon Stone, die unter der musikalischen Leitung von Kirill Petrenko am 18. November 2019 Premiere feierte.

JETZT KAUFEN 

Trailer - Die tote Stadt von Erich Wolfgang Korngold
 

Auszeichnungen für DIE TOTE STADT

GUSTAV MAHLER: SYMPHONIE NR. 7

 

Dieses Album ist die erste Veröffentlichung des Labels der Bayerischen Staatsoper –Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings. Der Live-Mitschnitt von Gustav Mahlers 7. Symphonie aus dem Münchner Nationaltheater offenbart eine dramatische Interpretation eines der Gipfelwerke des spätromantischen Orchesterrepertoires. Hier erleben wir, wie ein mit seinem Dirigenten innig vertrautes Orchester über alle symphonische Kraft und Brillanz hinaus eine epische Geschichte erzählt: ein unvergesslicher musikalischer Moment und ein einzigartiges Klangerlebnis.

JETZT KAUFEN 

Trailer - Symphonie Nr. 7 von Gustav Mahler
 

Auszeichnungen für GUSTAV MAHLER: SYMPHONIE NR. 7

WEITERE INFOS ZU UNSEREN PRODUKTEN

Die in den wertig und aufwendig gestalteten Hardcover-Booklets enthaltenen Hintergrundinformationen und Essays ergänzen das technisch anspruchsvolle Klang- und Bilderlebnis.

Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings wird im Auftrag der Bayerischen Staatsoper und von der Bayerisches Staatsorchester Konzert GmbH realisiert.Den weltweiten physischen und digitalen Vertrieb übernimmt die NAXOS MUSIC GROUP. Das Angebot von Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings ist auf CD, DVD und Blu-ray verfügbar und bei allen großen digitalen Anbietern wie Amazon Music, Apple Music, Deezer, Idagio, Napster oder Spotify sowie im Fachhandel erhältlich.

DAS BSOREC TEAM

Geschäftsführung  Benedikt Don Strohmeier, Martin Fuchs
Labelmanagement  Anne Kraus

Im Vertrieb der NAXOS DEUTSCHLAND
Musik & Video Vertriebs-GmbH
www.naxos.de