The Bayerisches Staatsballett

The Bayerisches Staatsballett was founded as an independent department of the Bayerische Staatsoper at the instigation of Konstanze Vernon in the 1990/91 season. After her directorship, Ivan Liška took over as director of the company from 1998 to 2016. Igor Zelensky succeeded him in August 2016. In addition to cultivating the rich repertoire, which includes works by Ray Barra, John Cranko, Mats Ek, Jiří Kylián, John Neumeier, Hans van Manen or Peter Wright, Zelensky has engaged a series of choreographers whose works had not yet been seen in Munich: These include David Dawson, Sharon Eyal, Marco Goecke , Andrey Kaydanovskiy, Wayne McGregor, Liam Scarlett, Christian Spuck and Christopher Wheeldon. With the series Today is Tomorrow, Zelensky has included a format in the repertoire that presents trend-setting new creations by the younger generation. The company's programme is complemented by events for children and young people, outreach projects with institutions and international guest performances. 

ALWAYS UP-TO-DATE

Follow us for up-to-date information, event notices and discussions on our social media channels. We look forward to your opinion!

Facebook 
Instagram
Twitter 
TIKTOK 
LinkedIn 

THE ENSEMBLE OF THE BAYERISCHES STAATSBALLETT

 

BALLET DIRECTOR

Together the volunteers of the Bayerisches Staatsballett and the Heinz Bosl Foundation scholarship students form the Bayerisches Junior Ballett Munich. 

 

THE HISTORY OF THE BAYERISCHES STAATSBALLET

THE BAYERISCHES STAATSBALLETT – FROM ITS ORIGINS TO TODAY

From the court festivals of the 16th century through to the first ballet stars in the 19th century

If we look back over the surprisingly long history of ballet in Munich, we find, as in other major European cities, the tradition of court festivals in the French and Italian styles of the 16th and 17th centuries. Big names then became glittering highlights in the 19th century. Paul and Marie Taglioni, for example, appeared in Munich in 1825, when the Nationaltheater was reopened following a theatre fire.

King Ludwig I and the dancer, Lola Montez

Lola Montez (actually Elisabeth Rosanna Gilbert) was a stage artiste hailing from Irish-Scottish stock. She travelled across Europe as a “Spanish dancer” and enjoyed enormous success with her offering. As she tarried a while in Munich the ageing King Ludwig I drew her and her art into his entourage (and more), with the affair no doubt having much influence on his abdication in the crisis-shaken year of 1848. A year before, in 1847, Lola Montez had succeeded in performing Giselle at the Nationaltheater. It was beset with various problems, as the performance was to start in the middle of August, when almost a third of the theatre’s staff were on holiday, which would still be the case today, as in August all Bayerisches Staatsballett and Bayerische Staatsoper employees enjoy their well-earned summer break.

Lucile Grahn as an influential ballet mistress in the world of ballet and Richard Wagner’s operas

The Giselle production was restaged to accommodate the guest performance of the famous dancer, Lucile Grahn. Ms Grahn made Munich her adopted home in 1869 and worked as a ballet mistress until 1875. Among others she rehearsed the ballets Sylvia and Coppélia and collaborated with the dance composition of the premieres of Richard Wagner’s Rheingold, Tannhäuser and Meistersinger. During this time, the company and the ballet school formed an integral component of the royal, and then the state opera house. The dancers’ main task was to perform in the dance interludes and cooperate in aptly-named “movement choirs” for operas.

The Prinzregententheater opens

As the Bayerische Staatsoper’s second venue after the Nationaltheater, the Prinzregententheater opened in 1901 as a festival theatre for role model performances, which it continues to do to this very day. The building is an arena theatre reproduced in the style of the Bayreuth Festival Theatre with exemplary art nouveau charm. It served as the main venue from 1944 until 1963 when the Nationaltheater reopened, after which it was used less frequently and only renovated in 1996 after a thirty-year Sleeping Beauty sleep. Today it serves as the Bayerisches Staatsballett’s second venue.

Social radicalization and war years

In the 1920s modernity was heavily represented on the programme with works by Béla Bartók (The Wooden Prince) and Igor Stravinsky (Petrushka) or ballets by Manuel de Falla. In public life, radicalization tendencies became increasingly perceptible during this period. On one hand the inflation of 1923 resulted in demand for a strong leadership personality. On the other hand, the downward economic spiral became the argument for claiming the Jewish community had benefited from the crisis. While the democratic system was increasingly questioned in the 1930s, the nascent, radical National Socialists cast themselves as patrons of a music theatre culture that should follow the party doctrine. At the Nationaltheater, political convictions were reflected in the choice of works and the staffing policy. Following the seizure of power in 1933 in particular, rigorous measures were taken to rid the theatre of non-Arian performers and staff. Jewish visitors were ultimately barred completely from performances in 1938. The opera house on Max-Joseph-Platz was then destroyed during an air raid in the night of 2 into 3 October 1943. However the Bayerische Staatsoper began performances in the Prinzregententheater at the end of 1945 already. In 1951 the Friends of the Nationaltheater formed a citizens’ initiative to begin the Nationaltheater’s reconstruction, and it opened again in 1963. The Friends of the Nationaltheater continue to support opera and ballet activities to this very day.

The history of the opera and ballet divisions with regard to the Third Reich and the pre and post-war periods at Munich’s Nationaltheater was diligently reprocessed in the extremely readable history of the Bayerische Staatsoper (Wie man wird was man ist, Henschel Verlag).

Post-war years – Russian and English dance tradition

In the autumn of 1945, the new Director, Marcel Luitpart, got to work and began his direction by gathering the remaining ensemble members in a room in the middle of the bombed-out ruins under the roof of the Nationaltheater. Luitpart delivered an quite successful series of ballets, predominantly from the repertoire of Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes in his own adaptations. In June 1948, he also caused a jolly serious theatre scandal with the world premiere of Werner Egk’s Abraxas in the Prinzregententheater. The culture minister of the day personally saw to the work’s removal after just five performances because of, “far too great liberties taken”. Ballet in Munich then truly blossomed under his successor, Victor Gsovsky, who combined the Russian dance tradition with innovative choreographic trends in the young French dance scene. Gsovsky had previously worked at the Ballet des Champs-Elysées, among others, from whence he also brought Irène Skorik as his ballerina. She was not only ideal and a role model for an entire generation of dance students – she also represented the embodiment of romantic-classical dance art for the audience. In the following years (1952-1954) Pia and Pino Mlakar led the ensemble first of all. They were replaced as training masters by Alan Carter and his wife Joan Harris. And so the English school moved into Munich. This balanced dance technique proved itself in both training and education as extremely beneficial for the dancers’ development.

New dance languages under the direction of Heinz Rosen

The newer dance languages of the 20th century were afforded greater attention when Heinz Rosen took over at the helm of the Staatsoper’s ballet division in 1959. Rosen had been a student of Rudolf von Laban’s school of German expressive dance. He was lucky enough to have dance personalities of intensive creative power in the ensemble, such as Natascha Trofimova, Heino Hallhuber, Franz Baur or Walther Matthes, who could transpose his ideas and instructions into dance. In the years that followed, Rosen brought more and more outstanding dancers to Munich, some as guests, some as permanent members. The dedication by Konstanze Vernon, a young Berliner principal from the school of Tatjana Gsovsky, proved to be especially momentous here. Over two decades later, this performer indeed initiated the foundation of the Bayerisches Staatsballett as an independent division under the auspices of the Nationaltheater. She debuted in Munich in 1963 with the Ballet Festival Week in Carl Orff’s Nänie und Dithyrambe together with her long-standing stage partner Winfried Krisch.

Introduction of the Ballet Festival Week and opening of the reconstructed Nationaltheater

With the introduction of the Ballet Festival Week, Heinz Rosen opened the doors to the international ballet world in 1960. He succeeded in bringing big ensembles and stars from major European and American cities here to Munich, and so with the first version, the American Aaron Copland appeared with a guest performance by the American Ballet Theatre with a choreography (Rodeo) by Agnes de Mille. The ballet contributed two choreographies (Dance Panels in Seven Movements by Aaron Copland and Entrata-Nänie-Dithyrambe by Carl Orff) to the Nationaltheater’s reopening in 1963. Added to this, came the world premiere of Triptychon to symphonic music by Karl Amadeus Hartmann. The latter was a piece that evoked very ambivalent emotions among part of the audience with regard to the atrocities of the Second World War and can be described as Rosen’s courageous programme arrangement. All in all, the company’s style under Rosen’s direction is a typical expression of stage dance of the time, a mixture of classical and modern dance with elements of expressive dance.

1960-1990: Formative stimuli from John Cranko

In the two decades between the Rosen era and the foundation of the Bayerisches Staatsballett lie a series of short periods in office. Important and direction-setting here were above all the years when John Cranko, in addition to his work in Stuttgart, steered the destiny of ballet in Munich (1968-1970). He delivered three of his most beautiful narrative ballets for the company in Munich, which had been produced in Stuttgart: Romeo and Juliet, Onegin and The Taming of the Shrew. His artistic influence continued its effect during the director period of his dance colleague from his youth with the Royal Ballet, Ronald Hynd. The hope cherished by many that Cranko would move his field of influence and activity entirely to Munich, was not fulfilled, but he did have a major influence on the company’s style with the rehearsals of his most important works. To this very day, Cranko’s three great narrative ballets, Romeo and Juliet, Onegin and The Taming of the Shrew, are an indispensable part of the Bayerisches Staatsballett’s repertoire. Directors such as Dieter Gackstetter or the ballerina Lynn Seymour also set important accents. Gackstetter, for example, gained Jerome Robbins for his first work with a German ballet company. And Lynn Seymour brought Bournonville’s jewel, La Sylphide, to the stage. The development of Youri Vámos, for many years thereafter one of Europe’s most important choreographers, began under Director Edmund Gleede. Stefan Erler brought David Bintley to Germany for the first time. In the mid-1970s, a dance couple worked in Munich, which would return to the company more than two decades later as director and ballet mistress – Ivan Liška and Colleen Scott.

Konstanze Vernon and the foundation of the Bayerisches Staatsballett for the 1990/1991 season

In the 70s and 80s it became increasingly more evident that the company would have to be structurally organised in some other way, to be able to stay abreast of ballet’s international development and the increased dance requirements caused by new choreographic languages. The driving force in this period was Konstanze Vernon, an icon in the 60s and 70s, and not just in the Bavarian ballet scene. For Vernon, it was crystal-clear: Ballet in the state capital only had a future if, in addition to the classics, new forms of expression were introduced and responsibility by oneself was carried for one’s own artistic creativity. The necessary resources had to be created for these tasks and the Staatsballett had to become its own organizational and financial entity. Thanks to her political instinct she managed to convince the politicians responsible for culture to set up an artistically and budgetary independent ballet directorate and to create new rehearsal spaces. She had presented the success model in the preceding years with the conversion of the opera-ballet school into the state ballet academy, in close cooperation with the Heinz Bosl Foundation for ballet she had established. With an administrative act, the Cabinet finally decided in February 1989 to found the Bayerisches Staatsballett at the beginning of the 1990/1991 season. Konstanze Vernon utilised the 1989/1990 season as a preparatory year during which the talk was already of the “Bayerisches Staatsballett being formed”. The Bayerisches Staatsballett has been an independent artistic entity since September 1990. From a cultural-political standpoint, this represented an important transition to a separate and artistically autonomous division under the auspices of the Nationaltheater. Ballet has been trained and rehearsed at the Ballettprobenhaus rehearsal building at Platzl 7 in the heart of Munich’s old town since 1991. This independence resulted in an immense boost in quality, which meant coveted choreographers such as Hans van Manen, John Neumeier, Jiřì Kylián, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, Lucinda Childs, Twyla Tharp and Angelin Preljocaj could be won over for numerous productions.

Pronounced expansion of the repertoire during Ivan Liška’s direction period (1998-2016)

Following Konstanze Vernon’s time at the helm, Ivan Liška shaped the company’s renown from 1998 to 2016. Ivan Liška had been a formative principal at the Hamburg Ballet under John Neumeier before he assumed his position as Director of the Bayerisches Staatsballett after a year as Konstanze Vernon’s deputy. From 1998 to 2016, he built up a repertoire from more than seventy works ranging from classical to the avant-garde. In Liška’s period as director, we see productions of important choreographers such as Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe and Mats Ek, as well as the classical reconstructions of Raymonda, Le Corsaire and Paquita entrusted to dramaturgist Wolfgang Oberender. Pina Bausch’s Für die Kinder von gestern, heute und morgen also represented a highpoint towards the end of Liška’s period in office. The educational work as part of the Bayerische Staatsoper’s Campus Programme was also intensified and further expanded during this time thanks to the dedication of dramaturgist Bettina Wagner-Bergelt.

Bayerisches Junior Ballett foundation in 2010

In autumn 2010 the Bayerisches Staatsballett, the Heinz Bosl Foundation and the “Hochschule für Musik und Theater” in Munich founded what is now theBayerisches Junior Ballett Munich: The 16-member ensemble consists of eight volunteers from the Staatsballett and eight students from the Hochschule. With a scholarship from the Heinz Bosl Foundation they complete a two-year excellence training course, are used in Bayerisches Staatsballett repertoire performances and go on tour with their own productions.

Igor Zelensky as Director – 2016 until today

In August 2016 Igor Zelensky  took over from Ivan Liška as the third director since the Bayerisches Staatsballett was founded in 1990/1991. Zelensky studied at the Institute of Ballet in Tiflis and at the Waganowa Institute in St. Petersburg. In 1988, he made his debut at the Mariinsky Theatre and was promptly entrusted with the main roles of the classic repertoire. For many years, he was the undisputed star at the top of the male principals at the Mariinsky Ballet, then the Kirov Ballet. Since his first appearance at the Bayerisches Staatsballett as part of the Terpsichore Gala I in October 1999, he has been a regular guest principal in Munich. In addition to maintaining the Bayerisches Staatsballett’s wide-ranging repertoire, Igor Zelensky has also brought the works of internationally coveted choreographers such as Sharon Eyal, Yuri Grigorovich, Wayne McGregor, Christian Spuck and Christopher Wheeldon to Munich. An important goal for him is to also offer a platform to younger choreographers, who include names such as Andrey Kaydanovskiy, Philippe Kratz, Edward Liang and Liam Scarlett. At the beginning of the 2020/2021 season Andrey Kaydanovskiy was named the Bayerisches Staatsballett’s resident choreographer, and in spring 2021, he produced his first full-length ballet with the Munich company, The Blizzard.

Ballet Directors in Munich after the Second World War

15 Oct. 1945 to 31 Aug. 1948  Marcel Luitpart

1 Sept. 1948 to 31 Aug. 1950  Rudolf Kölling

1 Sept. 1950 to 31 Aug. 1952  Victor Gsovsky

1 Sept. 1952 to 31 Aug. 1954  Pia und Pino Mlakar

1 Sept. 1954 to 31 Aug. 1959  Alan Carter

1 Sept. 1959 to 31 Sept. 1967  Heinz Rosen

1 Oct. 1967 to 31 Aug. 1970  John Cranko

1 Sept. 1970 to 31 Aug. 1973  Ronald Hynd

1 Sept. 1973 to 31 Aug. 1975  Dieter Gackstetter (acting)

1 Sept. 1975 to 31 Aug. 1978  Dieter Gackstetter

16 Nov. 1978 to 31 Aug. 1980  Lynn Seymour

1 Sept. 1980 to 31 Aug. 1984  Edmund Gleede

1 Sept. 1984 to 31 Aug. 1986  Ronald Hynd

1 Sept. 1986 to 31 Aug. 1989  Stefan Erler (acting)

Foundation of the Bayerisches Staatsballett

1989/1990 season: “Bayerisches Staatsballett being formed”

From the 1990/1991 season: “Bayerisches Staatsballett”

1 Sept. 1989 to 31 Aug. 1998  Konstanze Vernon

1 Sept. 1998 to 31 Aug. 2016 Ivan Liška

Since 1 Sept. 2016 Igor Zelensky

Das Bayerische Staatsballett

Als eigenständige Abteilung der Bayerischen Staatsoper wurde das Bayerische Staatsballett auf Betreiben von Konstanze Vernon zur Spielzeit 1990/91 gegründet. Nach ihrer Direktionszeit übernahm Ivan Liška von 1998 bis 2016 die Leitung der Compagnie. Im August 2016 trat Igor Zelensky seine Nachfolge an. Neben der Pflege des reichen Repertoires, das unter anderem Werke von Ray Barra, John Cranko, Mats Ek, Jiří Kylián, John Neumeier, Hans van Manen oder Peter Wright umfasst, verpflichtete Zelensky eine ganze Reihe von Choreograph:innen, deren Werke noch nicht in München zu sehen waren: Dazu gehören David Dawson, Sharon Eyal, Marco Goecke , Andrey Kaydanovskiy, Wayne McGregor, Liam Scarlett, Christian Spuck und Christopher Wheeldon. Mit der Reihe Heute ist morgen  hat Zelensky ein Format in den Spielplan aufgenommen, das zukunftsweisende Neukreationen der jüngeren Generation präsentiert. Ergänzt wird das Angebot der Compagnie mit Veranstaltungen im Kinder- und Jugendbereich, Outreach-Projekten mit Institutionen wie dem Rampenlichter-Festival sowie internationalen Gastspielen.

IMMER AUF DEM LAUFENDEN BLEIBEN

Folgen Sie uns für aktuelle Informationen, Veranstaltungshinweise und Diskussionen auf unseren Social-Media-Kanälen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Meinung!

Facebook 
Instagram
Twitter 
TIKTOK 
LinkedIn 

DAS ENSEMBLE DES BAYERISCHEN STAATSBALLETTS

BALLETTDIREKTOR

Die Volontär:innen des Bayerischen Staatsballetts und die Stipendiat:innen der Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung bilden gemeinsam das Bayerische Junior Ballett München. 

DIE GESCHICHTE DES BAYERISCHEN STAATSBALLETTS

DAS BAYERISCHE STAATSBALLETT - VON DEN ANFÄNGEN BIS HEUTE

Von den Höfischen Festen im 16. Jahrhundert bis zu den ersten Ballettstars im 19. Jahrhundert

Blickt man auf die überraschend lange Ballettgeschichte in München zurück, so stößt man hier wie in anderen europäischen Metropolen auf die Tradition der höfischen Feste in der italienischen und französischen Manier des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts. Im 19. Jahrhundert setzten dann große Namen Glanzlichter. So traten Paul und Marie Taglioni im Jahre 1825 in München auf, als das Nationaltheater nach einem Theaterbrand wiedereröffnet wurde.

König Ludwig I. und die Tänzerin Lola Montez

Lola Montez [eigentlich Elisabeth Rosanna Gilbert] war eine Bühnenkünstlerin irisch-schottischer Herkunft. Sie reiste als »spanische Tänzerin« durch Europa und hatte mit ihrem Programm großen Erfolg. Als sie in München weilte, zog sie den alternden König Ludwig I. mit ihrer Kunst so in ihren Bann, dass die Affäre im Krisenjahr 1848 nicht unwesentlich zu dessen Abdankung beitrug. Ein Jahr zuvor, also 1847, hatte Lola Montez durchgesetzt, das Ballett Giselle am Nationaltheater zur Aufführung zu bringen. Dies verursachte einige Probleme, da die Vorstellung mitten im August angesetzt wurde, als fast ein Drittel des Personals beurlaubt war – dies wäre auch heute noch so, denn im August befinden sich die Mitarbeitenden des Bayerischen Staatsballetts und der Bayerischen Staatsoper geschlossen in der Sommerpause.

Lucile Grahn als einflussreiche Ballettmeisterin im Ballett und in den Opern Richard Wagners

Die Produktion Giselle wurde aus Anlass des Gastspiels der berühmten Tänzerin Lucile Grahn neu inszeniert. Im Jahr 1869 machte Lucile Grahn München zu ihrer Wahlheimat und war bis 1875 als Ballettmeisterin tätig. Sie studierte unter anderem die Ballette Sylvia und Coppélia ein und wirkte bei der tänzerischen Gestaltung der Erstaufführungen von Richard Wagners Rheingold, Tannhäuser und Meistersinger mit. In dieser Zeit bildeten die Compagnie und die Ballettschule einen integralen Bestandteil des königlichen, dann staatlichen Opernhauses. Die Hauptaufgabe der Tänzerinnen und Tänzer bestand in den Tanzeinlagen und in der Mitwirkung in Bewegungschören für Opern.

Eröffnung des Prinzregententheaters

Das Prinzregententheater, das die Bayerische Staatsoper als zweite Spielstätte neben dem Nationaltheater bespielte und bis heute bespielt, wurde 1901 als Festspielhaus für Musteraufführungen eröffnet. Das Gebäude ist ein dem Bayreuther Festspielhaus nachempfundenes Arenatheater mit exemplarischem Jugendstilcharme. Ab 1944 wurde es bis zur Wiedereröffnung des Nationaltheaters im Jahre 1963 durchgängig bespielt. Anschließend wurde es seltener benutzt und erst 1996 nach dreißigjährigem Dornröschenschlaf renoviert. Heute dient es als zweite Spielstätte des Bayerischen Staatsballetts.

Gesellschaftliche Radikalisierung und Kriegsjahre

In den 1920er Jahren war die Moderne mit Werken von Béla Bartók (Holzgeschnitzter Prinz) Igor Strawinsky (Petruschka) oder Ballette von Manuel de Falla auffallend stark im Spielplan vertreten. Im öffentlichen Leben machten sich in diesen Jahren zunehmend Radikalisierungstendenzen bemerkbar. Die Inflation von 1923 ließ zum einen den Ruf nach einer starken Führungspersönlichkeit laut werden. Zum anderen wurde die ökonomische Abwärtsspirale als Argument herbeigezogen, die jüdische Bevölkerung hätte von der der Krise profitiert. Während das demokratische System in den 1930er Jahren immer stärker in Frage gestellt wurde, gerierten sich die aufstrebenden Nationalsozialisten als Mäzene einer Musiktheaterkultur, die der Parteidoktrin folgen sollte. Am Nationaltheater schlug sich die politische Gesinnung in der Werkauswahl und der Personalpolitik nieder. Insbesondere nach der Machtübernahme 1933 wurden rigorose Maßnahmen getroffen, um nichtarische Künstlerinnen und Künstler loszuwerden. 1938 wurde schließlich den jüdischen Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauern der Besuch der Aufführungen komplett untersagt. Durch den Bombenangriff in der Nacht vom 2. auf den 3. Oktober 1943 wurde das Opernhaus am Max-Joseph-Platz zerstört. Aber bereits Ende 1945 setzte die Bayerische Staatsoper im Prinzregententheater wieder Vorstellungen an. 1951 formierten sich die Freunde des Nationaltheaters ausgehend von einer Bürgerinitiative, um den Wiederaufbau des Nationaltheaters in die Wege zu leiten. Die Eröffnung des Nationaltheaters erfolgte 1963. Bis heute unterstützen die Freunde des Nationaltheaters die Aktivitäten von Oper und Ballett.

Im äußerst lesenswerten Band zur Geschichte der Bayerischen Staatsoper (Wie man wird was man ist, Henschel Verlag) wurde die Geschichte der Sparten Ballett und Oper in Bezug auf das Dritte Reich sowie die Vor- und Nachkriegszeit am Nationaltheater München aufgearbeitet.

Nachkriegsjahre: Russische und englische Tanztradition

Im Herbst des Jahres 1945 machte sich der neue Direktor Marcel Luitpart an die Arbeit und startete seine Direktion, indem er die verbliebenen Mitglieder des Ensembles in einem Saal inmitten der Bombentrümmer unter dem Dach des Nationaltheaters versammelte. Luitpart brachte eine recht erfolgreiche Serie von Balletten, vorwiegend aus dem Repertoire von Diaghilevs Ballets Russes in eigenen Adaptionen heraus. Zudem verursachte er im Juni 1948 mit der Uraufführung von Werner Egks Abraxas im Prinzregententheater einen handfesten Theaterskandal. Der Kultusminister persönlich verfügte die Absetzung des Werkes nach fünf Vorstellungen – "wegen allzu großer Freizügigkeiten". Unter seinem Nachfolger, Victor Gsovsky, kam das Münchner Ballett zu besonderer Blüte. Er verknüpfte die russische Tanztradition mit innovativen choreographischen Tendenzen der jungen französischen Tanzszene. Victor Gsovsky war unter anderem beim Ballet des Champs-Elysées tätig gewesen. Von dort brachte er als Ballerina Irène Skorik mit. Sie wurde nicht nur für eine ganze Generation von Tanzeleven Ideal und Vorbild, sondern repräsentierte für das Publikum den Inbegriff romantisch-klassischer Tanzkunst. In den folgenden Jahren (1952-1954) leiteten zuerst Pia und Pino Mlakar das Ensemble. Sie wurden von Alan Carter und seiner Frau Joan Harris als Trainingsmeisterin abgelöst. Mit ihnen hielt die englische Schule in München Einzug. Diese ausgewogene Tanztechnik erwies sich nicht nur im Training, sondern auch in der Ausbildung als sehr vorteilhaft für die Entwicklung der Tänzerinnen und Tänzer.

Neue Tanzsprachen unter der Direktion von Heinz Rosen

Als Heinz Rosen 1959 für fast ein Jahrzehnt die Leitung des Staatsopernballetts übernahm, erhielten die neueren Tanzsprachen des 20. Jahrhunderts einen größeren Stellenwert. Rosen kam aus der Schule des deutschen Ausdruckstanzes von Rudolf von Laban. Er hatte das Glück, im Ensemble Tänzerpersönlichkeiten von intensiver Gestaltungskraft zu haben, wie Natascha Trofimova, Heino Hallhuber, Franz Baur oder Walther Matthes, die seine Intentionen tänzerisch umzusetzen vermochten. In den folgenden Jahren holte Rosen immer wieder hervorragende Tänzerinnen und Tänzer nach München, teils als Gäste, teils fest verpflichtet. Dabei sollte sich das Engagement von Konstanze Vernon, einer jungen Berliner Solistin aus der Schule von Tatjana Gsovsky, als besonders folgenreich erweisen. Initiierte diese Künstlerin doch über zwei Jahrzehnte später die Gründung des Bayerischen Staatsballetts als eigenständige Abteilung unter dem Dach des Nationaltheaters. Ihr Debüt hatte sie 1963 in München bei den Ballettfestwochen in Carl Orffs Nänie und Dithyrambe zusammen mit ihrem langjährigen Bühnenpartner Winfried Krisch.

Einführung der Ballettfestwoche und Eröffnung des wiederaufgebauten Nationaltheaters

Mit der Einführung einer BallettFestwoche öffnete Heinz Rosen im Jahr 1960 die Türe zur internationalen Ballettwelt. Es gelang ihm, Gastspiele von großen Ensembles und Stars europäischer und amerikanischer Metropolen zu holen. So trat bei der ersten Ausgabe unter anderem der Amerikaner Aaron Copland im Rahmen eines Gastspiels des American Ballet Theatre auf mit einer Choreographie (Rodeo) von Agnes de Mille. Zur Wiedereröffnung des Nationaltheaters 1963 steuerte das Ballett zwei Choreographien bei (Dance-Panels in seven movements von Aaron Copland und Entrata-Nänie-Dithyrambe von Carl Orff). Dazu kam die Uraufführung Triptychon auf sinfonische Musik von Karl Amadeus Hartmann. Letzteres war ein Werk, das bei einem Teil des Publikums sehr ambivalente Gefühle in Bezug auf die Greueltaten im Zweiten Weltkrieg hervorrief und als mutige Spielplansetzung Rosens bezeichnet werden darf. Insgesamt kann man den Stil der Compagnie unter der Direktion von Rosen als typische Ausprägung des Bühnentanzes jener Zeit beschreiben, eine Mischung aus klassischem und modernem Tanz mit Elementen des Ausdruckstanzes.

1960-1990: Prägende Impulse von John Cranko

In den zwei Jahrzehnten zwischen der Ära Rosen und der Gründung des Bayerischen Staatsballetts liegt eine Reihe von kürzeren Amtsperioden. Wichtig und zukunftsweisend waren vor allem die Jahre, in denen John Cranko, neben seiner Arbeit in Stuttgart, die Ballettgeschicke in München lenkte (1968-1970). Er steuerte für die Compagnie in München drei seiner schönsten Handlungsballette bei, die in Stuttgart entstanden waren: Romeo und Julia, Onegin und Der Widerspenstigen Zähmung. Seine künstlerische Einflussnahme wirkte noch fort in der Direktorenzeit seines Tänzerkollegen aus der Jugendzeit am Royal Ballet, Ronald Hynd. Die von vielen gehegte Hoffnung, dass Cranko sein Wirkungsfeld ganz nach München verlegen würde, erfüllte sich nicht, allerdings nahm er mit der Einstudierung seiner wichtigsten Werke großen Einfluss auf den Stil der Compagnie. Bis heute sind Crankos drei große Handlungsballette Romeo und Julia, Onegin und Der Widerspenstigen Zähmung ein unverzichtbarer Teil des Repertoires des Bayerischen Staatsballetts. Aber auch Direktoren wie Dieter Gackstetter oder die Ballerina Lynn Seymour setzten wichtige Akzente. Gackstetter gelang es beispielsweise Jerome Robbins für seine erste Arbeit mit einer deutschen Ballettcompagnie zu gewinnen. Lynn Seymour konnte das Bournonville-Juwel La Sylphide akquirieren. Unter Direktor Edmund Gleede begann die Entwicklung von Youri Vámos, der danach für viele Jahre zu den wichtigsten Choreographen Europas zählte. Stefan Erler brachte David Bintley zum ersten Mal nach Deutschland. Mitte der 1970er Jahre war in München auch ein Tänzerehepaar engagiert, das über zwei Jahrzehnte später als Direktor und Ballettmeisterin in die Compagnie zurückkehren sollte: Ivan Liška und Colleen Scott.

Konstanze Vernon und die Gründung des Bayerischen Staatsballetts zur Spielzeit 1990/1991

In den 1970er- und 1980er-Jahren wurde es immer offensichtlicher, dass sich die Compagnie strukturell anderes organisieren musste, um mit der internationalen Entwicklung des Balletts und den gestiegenen tänzerischen Anforderungen durch neue choreographische Sprachen mithalten zu können. Treibende Kraft war in dieser Zeit Konstanze Vernon, die in den 1960er und 1970er-Jahren als eine Ikone nicht nur der bayerischen Ballettszene galt. Für Vernon stand fest: Das Ballett in der Landeshauptstadt hatte nur eine Zukunft, wenn es neben den Klassikern auch neue Ausdrucksformen wagen und für das künstlerische Tun selber Verantwortung tragen würde. Für diese Aufgaben galt es die nötigen Ressourcen zu schaffen und das Staatsballett organisatorisch und finanziell auf eigene Beine zu stellen. Dank ihres politischen Spürsinns vermochte sie die verantwortlichen Kulturpolitiker davon zu überzeugen, eine künstlerisch und etatmäßig unabhängige Ballett-Direktion einzusetzen und neue Probenräumlichkeiten zu schaffen. Das Erfolgsmodell hatte sie in den Jahren zuvor mit der Umwandlung der Opernballettschule zur Staatlichen Ballettakademie vorgelegt, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der von ihr gegründeten Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung für Ballett. Mit einem administrativen Akt beschloss der Ministerrat im Februar 1989 schließlich die Gründung des Bayerischen Staatsballetts zum Beginn der Spielzeit 1990/1991. Die Spielzeit 1989/90 diente Konstanze Vernon als Vorbereitungsjahr, man sprach bereits vom „Bayerischen Staatsballett in Gründung“. Seit September 1990 steht das Bayerische Staatsballett auf eigenen künstlerischen Beinen. Aus kulturpolitischer Sicht stellte dies ein bedeutender Übergang zu einer eigenständigen und künstlerisch unabhängigen Sparte unter dem Dach des Nationaltheaters dar. Trainiert und geprobt wird seit 1991 im eigenen Ballettprobenhaus am Platzl 7 inmitten der Münchner Altstadt. Künstlerisch resultierte aus der Unabhängigkeit ein enormer Qualitätsschub. So konnten begehrte Choreographen wie Hans van Manen, John Neumeier, Jiřì Kylián, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, Lucinda Childs, Twyla Tharp oder Angelin Preljocaj für Produktionen gewonnen werden.

Markante Erweiterung des Repertoires in der Direktionszeit von Ivan Liška (1998-2016)

Nach der Direktionszeit von Konstanze Vernon prägte Ivan Liška von 1998 bis 2016 das Renommee der Compagnie. Ivan Liška war über zwanzig Jahre lang einer der prägenden Solisten des Hamburger Balletts unter John Neumeier gewesen, bevor er nach einem Jahr als Stellvertreter von Konstanze Vernon seine Position als Direktor des Bayerischen Staatsballetts einnahm. Von 1998 bis 2016 baute er ein Repertoire aus mehr als siebzig Werken von der Klassik bis zur Avantgarde auf. In Liškas Direktionszeit fallen Produktionen bedeutender Choreographen wie Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe und Mats Ek, außerdem die von Dramaturg Wolfgang Oberender betreuten Klassiker-Rekonstruktionen von Raymonda, Le Corsaire und Paquita. Einen weiteren Höhepunkt bildete Pina Bauschs Für die Kinder von gestern, heute und morgen zum Abschluss von Liškas Amtszeit. Auch die education-Arbeit im Rahmen des Campus Programms der Bayerischen Staatsoper wurde dank des Engagements der Dramaturgin Bettina Wagner-Bergelt in dieser Zeit intensiviert und weiter ausgebaut.

Gründung des Bayerischen Junior Balletts 2010

Im Herbst 2010 gründeten das Bayerische Staatsballett, die Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung und die Hochschule für Musik und Theater München das heutige Bayerische Junior Ballett München: Das 16-köpfige Ensemble besteht aus acht Volontärinnen und Volontären des Staatsballetts und acht Studierenden der Hochschule. Mit einem Stipendium der Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung absolvieren sie eine zweijährige Exzellenzausbildung, werden in Repertoire-Vorstellungen des Bayerischen Staatsballetts eingesetzt und gehen mit eigenen Produktionen auf Tournee.

Direktion von Igor Zelensky: 2016 bis heute

Im August 2016 trat Igor Zelensky,  der dritte Direktor seit der Gründung des Bayerischen Staatsballetts 1990/91, die Nachfolge von Ivan Liška an. Igor Zelensky studierte am Ballettinstitut in Tiflis und am Waganowa-Institut in St. Petersburg. 1988 debütierte er am Mariinsky-Theater und wurde in kürzester Zeit mit den Hauptrollen des klassischen Repertoires betraut. Für lange Jahre stand er als unbestrittener Star an der Spitze der männlichen Solisten des Mariinsky-Balletts, damals Kirov-Ballett. Seit seinem ersten Auftreten beim Bayerischen Staatsballett im Rahmen der Terpsichore-Gala I im Oktober 1999 war er regelmäßiger Gastsolist in München.  Neben der Pflege des umfangreichen Repertoires des Bayerischen Staatsballetts gelang es Igor Zelensky Werke international gefragter Choreographen wie Sharon Eyal, Yuri Grigorovich, Wayne McGregor, Christian Spuck oder Christopher Wheeldon nach München zu holen. Ein wichtiges Anliegen ist es ihm, auch jüngeren Choreographinnen und Choreographen eine Plattform zu bieten. Dazu gehören Namen wie Andrey Kaydanovskiy, Philippe Kratz, Edward Liang oder Liam Scarlett. Zu Beginn der Spielzeit 2020/21 wurde Andrey Kaydanovskiy zum Hauschoreographen des Bayerischen Staatsballetts ernannt, der im Frühjahr 2021 mit Schneesturm sein erstes abendfüllendes Werk mit der Münchner Compagnie erarbeitet.

 

Ballettdirektor:innen in München nach dem 2. Weltkrieg

15.10.1945–31.08.1948  Marcel Luitpart

01.09.1948–31.08.1950  Rudolf Kölling

01.09.1950–31.08.1952  Victor Gsovsky

01.09.1952–31.08.1954  Pia und Pino Mlakar

01.09.1954–31.08.1959  Alan Carter

01.09.1959–31.09.1967  Heinz Rosen

01.10.1967-31.08.1970  John Cranko

01.09.1970–31.08.1973  Ronald Hynd

01.09.1973–31.08.1975  Dieter Gackstetter (kommissarisch)

01.09.1975–31.08.1978  Dieter Gackstetter

16.11.1978–31.08.1980  Lynn Seymour

01.09.1980–31.08.1984  Edmund Gleede

01.09.1984–31.08.1986  Ronald Hynd

01.09.1986–31.08.1989  Stefan Erler (kommissarisch)

Gründung des Bayerischen Staatsballetts

Spielzeit 1989/1990: „Bayerisches Staatsballett in Gründung“

Ab der Spielzeit 1990/1991: „Bayerisches Staatsballett“

01.09.1989 – 31.08.1998  Konstanze Vernon

01.09.1998 – 31.08. 2016 Ivan Liška

Seit 01.09.2016 Igor Zelensky