TWO ISLANDS OF ILLUSIONS


The stage of the Bayerische Staatsoper
The island of Ariadne on Naxos 


More information about the Hong Kong Arts Festival can be found here

#BSOhongkong

Dates in Hongkong 2024

There are no activities to show for this selection

The Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich
 

The art form of opera has existed for around 400 years - its tradition in Munich is just as long, dating back to the Baroque period. The first Italian court opera house was inaugurated here in 1653. Munich's considerable reputation as an opera city is based on the connections of composers such as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss to the Bavarian metropolis. Today, the Bayerische Staatsoper is one of the most important opera institutions in the world and is housed in the Munich National Theater. First opened in 1818, the neoclassical-style theater building with its magnificent auditorium for 2,101 seats and its foyers is one of the largest and most beautiful opera houses in the world. For the most famous singers, the most important conductors and the most interesting directors, the stage of the National Theater was and still is an island. An island for illusions, imaginations and excursions. An island for living art: for opera.

Important world premieres have taken place at the Munich Opera: Idomeneo by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in 1781; its success prompted the composer to move from Salzburg to Munich. 1865: World premiere of Tristan und Isolde, the work that revolutionized the world of music, at the Royal Court and National Theatre in Munich.

The close relationship between Richard Wagner and King Ludwig II of Bavaria also led to the world premieres of Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (1868), Das Rheingold (1869) and Die Walküre (1870) in Munich.

Other important world premieres at the Munich National Theatre: Richard Strauss Capriccio (1942), Aribert Reimann Lear, (1978), Miroslav Srnka South Pole (2016)...

Even today, almost every season at the Bayerische Staatsoper sees premieres and first performances of "new" opera works. For example, Krzysztof Penderecki's The Devils of Loudun, directed by Simon Stone, was staged for the first time in Munich as the festival opening (2022)with overwhelming success. It was conducted by the Bavarian General Music Director Vladimir Jurowski, a conductor who is always resolutely committed to new and often unwieldy works.

The National Theatre

 

Die Teufel von Loudun

This was followed a year later by the opera Hamlet (2023) by composer Brett Dean. This year (2024), the Munich premiere of György Ligeti's Le Grand Macabre, a modern classic, is eagerly awaited.

The Royal Court and National Theater is inaugurated in 1818. It had 2,600 seats and Munich had 50,000 inhabitants! Its architect, Karl von Fischer, was inspired by the Greek temple and the Théâtre de l'Odeon in Paris. Disastrous fire in 1823, rebuilt by Leo von Klenze, reopened in 1825. Destruction of the building in 1943 due to heavy bombing of Munich during the Second World War. Reopened in 1963.

After the Second World War, instead of building an opera house in modern architecture, it was decided to reconstruct the old opera house from 1825. At 2,500 square meters, the stage is one of the largest in the world. The auditorium offers 2,101 seats - and every evening the freedom for 2,101 individual impressions, 2,101 different emotions, 2,101 different opinions, 2,101 individual listening experiences...

Destruction of the National Theater by bombing raids in 1943 and 1944

© Archive Bayerische Staatsoper
© Archive Bayerische Staatsoper

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss are revered as "household gods" due to their personal connection to the Munich Opera. Their works have always played a special role in exemplary productions and musical interpretations.

Mozart's works in particular have been cultivated in Munich since the beginning of Serge Dorny's directorship. Under his premise "I am not the gatekeeper of a mausoleum", the Munich Opera succeeds in presenting completely new perspectives on the works of the Salzburg genius and a Mozart ensemble of young singers is quickly established. 

The Bayerische Staatsoper sees itself as an opera "theater" beyond the mainstream and beyond convention. This has earned it the highest praise time and again. The Opera Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the international opera business: in 2023, the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich triumphed as "Opera House of the Year" for the second time since 2018. On top of this, Sergei Prokofiev's War and Peace, newly staged by Dmitri Tcherniakov, was named best opera production.

 

 
Der Rosenkavalier
Lohengrin
Così fan tutte
Le nozze di Figaro
Krieg und Frieden

500 years of living tradition
 

The Bayerische Staatsorchester celebrated its five-hundredth anniversary in 2023. It is one of the oldest and most traditional ensembles in the world. Based in the Bayerische Staatsoper, the orchestra and its 144 members perform both in the orchestra pit and on the concert platform. In 2022, the orchestra was voted Orchestra of the Year for the eighth time in a row in the critics' survey conducted by Opernwelt magazine.

Important general music directors have shaped the high quality of the Bayerische Staatsorchester at all times as music directors of the Munich Opera.

Singular conductors such as Ferenc Fricsay, Sir Georg Solti, Claudio Abbado, Ricardo Muti, Rafael Kubelik, Lorin Maazel, Karl Böhm and above all Carlos Kleiber have also had a formative influence on the Bayerische Staatsoper. 

 

 
Joseph Keilberth
Wolfgang Sawallisch
Zubin Mehta
Kent Nagano
Kirill Petrenko
Vladimir Jurowski
Bayerisches Staatsorchester

Richard Strauss
 

Richard Strauss was born in Munich in 1864. His father was a horn player at the Court and National Theater in Munich; his mother came from the Munich beer brewing dynasty Pschorr (to whom Der Rosenkavalier is also dedicated). At the beginning of his artistic life, Strauss conducted the Munich Opera for the first time in 1886. His compositional work was initially strongly influenced by his admiration for Richard Wagner and Franz Liszt, which is why he is classified as late Romantic. Early tone poems from the 1880s include Macbeth, Don Juan, Death and Transfiguration. After the turn of the century, Richard Strauss turned increasingly to opera as a composer alongside his conducting activities. He achieved his first extraordinary success in 1905 with the then scandalous Salome. Strauss found a congenial partner at this time in the Austrian poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal. After their first collaboration (Elektra, 1909), Hofmannsthal went on to write the libretti for a further five of the composer's operas (including Der Rosenkavalier, Ariadne auf Naxos, Die Frau ohne Schatten and Arabella).

After the Nazis seized power in 1933, the bourgeois conservative Richard Strauss allowed himself to be appropriated as an artist by the new rulers and used politically. The most famous German composer became president of the Reich Chamber of Music, conducted Wagner's Parsifal in Bayreuth (after Toscanini had canceled in protest against the Nazis) and composed the anthem for the opening of the Olympic Games in Berlin in 1936. After the death of Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Richard Strauss looked for a new librettist. He found him in the Jewish poet Stefan Zweig, who wrote the text for the opera Die schweigsame Frau (1935). However, this collaboration made him suspect to the National Socialists.

The complex artistic personality of Richard Strauss located many of his operatic subjects in the past: Der Rosenkavalier is set at the time of the Austrian Empress Maria Theresa, Arabella is set in Vienna in the 1860s, Ariadne in the Rococo style. Richard Strauss' last opera Capriccio, a "conversation piece for music", is also set in the rococo period. Capriccio was premiered in 1942 at the Munich National Theater under the direction of Clemens Krauss.

A constant look back, as an escape from and from the present? Inner emigration into a world of yesterday? After the Second World War, Strauss lived mostly in his villa in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. His last major compositions include Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings (1946) as mourning music for Munich, which was destroyed in the war, and Vier letzte Lieder (1948). Richard Strauss died in Garmisch in 1949 at the age of 85.

The operas of the Munich native and cosmopolitan Richard Strauss are given special attention on the stage of the Bayerische Staatsoper. The Munich Opera has always faced up to Strauss' work anew and posed current questions to him - the answers and interpretations have always been different in their aesthetics.

Productions

  1. 1937-02-01
  2. 1963-05-22
    1965-05-19
    1966-08-17
  3. 1971-05-05
    1972-05-16
  4. 1997-05-20
  5. 2008-05-14
  6. 2010-05-12
    2013-05-14
    2015-05-13
  7. 2021-08-25
Next
  1. 1937

    Ariadne auf Naxos

    Arrival of Bacchus on the desert island. Directed by Rudolf Hartmann.

    © Hanns Holdt

  2. 1963

    Die Frau ohne Schatten

    For the reopening of the Munich National Theater under the direction of Rudolf Hartmann

    © Sabine Toepffer

  3. 1965

    Arabella

    Staged by Rudolf Hartmann with Lisa della Casa as Arabella

    © Rudolf Betz

  4. 1966

    Salome

    1966 staged by Günther Rennert

    © Sabine Toepffer

  5. 1971

    Die schweigsame Frau

    Director: Günther Rennert

    © Sabine Toepffer

  6. 1972

    Der Rosenkavalier

    The "cult production" by Otto Schenk and Carlos Kleiber with stage design by Jürgen Rose (1972). This production thrilled audiences with its scenic opulence for almost 50 years.

    © Sabine Toepffer

  7. 1997

    Elektra

    Staged by Herbert Wernicke with Marjana Lipovsek as Klytämnestra and Gabriele Schnaut in the title role

  8. 2008

    Ariadne auf Naxos

    Production Robert Carsen

    © W. Hösl

  9. 2010

    Die schweigsame Frau

    Director: Barrie Kosky

    © W. Hösl

  10. 2013

    Die Frau ohne Schatten

    An exceptional interpretation by director Krzysztof Warlikowski with Kirill Petrenko on the podium.

    © W. Hösl

  11. 2015

    Arabella

    (Directed by Andreas Dresen) with Anja Harteros in the title role. The show stairs remained.

    © W. Hösl

  12. 2021

    Der Rosenkavalier

    Directed by Barrie Kosky, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. Clever new interpretation!

    © W. Hösl

Ariadne auf Naxos
 

Ariadne auf Naxos: Two works are on the program. A light and funny singspiel and a serious grand opera. For reasons of "time management", the organizer, "the richest man in Vienna", decides to perform both pieces at the same time: Take two - pay one!

The artists are now faced with the difficult task of performing the comedic "and" the tragic piece at the same time and in the same place. The place? An island, its name Naxos: desolate, empty, uninhabited.

So is it possible to perform the comic intermezzo "Zerbinetta and her lovers" and the tragic opera "Ariadne" there at the same time? Yes, if you have to. The richest man in Vienna wants it that way. He wants crossover! "Entertainment" and "seriousness" should be mixed - and it works. To the delight of the audience and the recognition of the characters on stage.

The idea of the director of the production of Ariadne auf Naxos, Robert Carsen, is as simple as it is plausible: the empty stage of the Bayerische Staatsoper is the desert island! 

In order to make the desert island / stage habitable, i.e. to fill it with life, you have to play theater on it. To do this, director Carsen, just like the characters in Richard Strauss' opera "Ariadne auf Naxos", resorts to the means of the theater: only through scenery, masks, costumes, props, theater blood and artist's sweat does an empty opera stage become an island of illusions.

Every empty opera stage should be called Naxos, because every empty opera stage is a desert island - only when you play on it, whether Tristan and Isolde or Wozzeck, whether Le nozze di Figaro or La Traviata, only then does it transform into an "island of illusions", an island of art and - sometimes - also an island of a better reality.

 
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos

TWO ISLANDS OF ILLUSIONS
 

Die Bühne der Bayerischen Staatsoper
Die Insel der Ariadne auf Naxos


Mehr Informationen zum Hong Kong Arts Festival finden Sie hier. 

閱讀中文版頁面請按此

#BSOhongkong

Termine in Hongkong 2024

In diesem Zeitraum gibt es keine Vorstellungen

Die Bayerische Staatsoper in München
 

Seit circa 400 Jahren gibt es die Kunstform Oper – ähnlich lang, schon seit dem Barock, ist ihre Tradition in München. Hier wird 1653 die erste italienische Hofoper eingeweiht. Das beachtliche Renommee Münchens als Opernstadt beruht auf den Beziehungen von Komponisten wie Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Richard Wagner und Richard Strauss zu der bayerischen Metropole. Heute ist die Bayerische Staatsoper eine der bedeutendsten Operninstitutionen der Welt und im Münchner Nationaltheater beheimatet. Der 1818 erstmals eingeweihte, in klassizistischem Stil errichtete Theaterbau zählt mit seinem prachtvollen Zuschauerraum für 2.101 Plätze und mit seinen Foyers zu den größten und schönsten Opernhäusern weltweit. Für die berühmtesten Sänger, die bedeutendsten Dirigenten und interessantesten Regisseure war und ist die Bühne des Nationaltheaters eine Insel.Eine Insel für Illusionen, Imaginationen und Exkursionen. Eine Insel für lebendige Kunst: Für Oper.

Bedeutende Uraufführungen fanden und finden an der Münchner Oper statt:1781 Idomeneo von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; der Erfolg veranlasste den Komponisten von Salzburg nach München zu ziehen. 1865:Uraufführung von Tristan und Isolde, jenem Werk, das die Musikwelt revolutionierte am Königlichen Hof- und National-Theater in München.

Die enge Beziehung zwischen Richard Wagner und König Ludwig II. von Bayern  führte in München ebenfalls zu den Uraufführungen vonDie Meistersinger von Nürnberg (1868), Das Rheingold (1869) und Die Walküre (1870).

Weitere bedeutende Uraufführungen am Münchner Nationaltheater:Richard Strauss Capriccio (1942), Aribert Reimann Lear,(1978), Miroslav Srnka South Pole(2016)...

Auch heute kommt es in nahezu jeder Saison an der Bayerischen Staatsoper zu Ur- und Erstaufführungen „neuer“ Opernwerke. So wurde als Festspieleröffnung (2022)erstmals in München Krzysztof Pendereckis Die Teufel von Loudun mit überwältigendem Erfolg in der Regie von Simon Stone auf die Bühne gebracht. Das Dirigat lag in Händen des Bayerischen Generalmusikdirektors Vladimir Jurowski, einem Dirigenten, der sich immer wieder entschieden für neue und oft auch sperrige Werke einsetzt.

DAS NATIONALTHEATER

 

Die Teufel von Loudun

Ein Jahr später folgte die Oper Hamlet (2023)des Komponisten Brett Dean. In diesem Jahr (2024) erwartet man mit Spannung die Münchner Erstaufführung von György Ligetis Le Grand Macabre, einem Klassiker der Moderne.

1818 wird das Königliche Hof- und Nationaltheater eingeweiht. Es hatte 2.600 Plätze und München 50.000 Einwohner! Sein Architekt Karl von Fischer orientierte sich am griechischen Tempel und dem Théâtre de l’Odeon in Paris. 1823Brandkatastrophe, Wiederaufbau durch Leo von Klenze, 1825 Wiedereröffnung. Zerstörung der Hauses 1943 durch heftige Bombardements auf München im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Wiedereröffnung 1963.

Nach dem II. Weltkrieg baut man kein Opernhaus in moderner Architektur, sondern entschließt sich den alten Opernbau von 1825 zu rekonstruieren. Die Bühne ist mit 2.500 Quadratmetern eine der größten der Welt. Der Zuschauerraum bietet 2.101 Plätze – und allabendlich die Freiheit für 2.101 individuelle Eindrücke, 2.101 verschiedene Emotionen, 2.101 unterschiedliche Meinungen, 2.101 eigene Hörerlebnisse...

Zerstörung des Nationaltheaters durch Bombenangriffe 1943 und 1944

© Archiv Bayerische Staatsoper
© Archiv Bayerische Staatsoper

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Richard Wagner und Richard Strauss werden ob ihrer persönlichen Verbundenheit zur Münchner Oper als „Hausgötter“verehrt. Ihren Werken kam und kommt in exemplarischen Inszenierungen und musikalischen Interpretationen zu jeder Zeit ein besonderer Stellenwert zu.

Besonders die Werke Mozarts werden in München mit Beginn der Intendanz von Serge Dorny gepflegt. Unter dessen Prämisse „Ich bin nicht der Türhüter eines Mausoleums“ gelingt der Münchner Oper völlig neue Sichtweisen auf die Werke des Salzburger Genies und es etabliert sich in kurzer Zeit ein Mozart-Ensemble junger Sänger und Sängerinnen. 

Die Bayerische Staatsoper versteht sich als ein Opern“theater“ jenseits des mainstreams und jenseits der Konventionen. Dies bringt ihr immer wieder höchstes Lob ein. Als eine der renommiertesten Auszeichnungen im internationalen Opernbetrieb gilt der Opera Award: 2023 triumphierte die Bayerische Staatsoper in München zum zweiten Mal seit 2018 als „Opernhaus des Jahres“. Obendrein wurde das hier, von Dmitri Tcherniakov neu inszenierte Werk Krieg und Frieden von Sergej Prokofjew als beste Opernproduktion ausgezeichnet.

 
Der Rosenkavalier
Lohengrin
Così fan tutte
Le nozze di Figaro
Krieg und Frieden

500 Jahre gelebte Tradition


Das Bayerische Staatsorchester feierte 2023 sein fünfhundertjähriges Bestehen.Es ist eines  der ältesten und traditionsreichsten Ensembles der Welt. Das in der Bayerischen Staatsoper beheimatete Orchester wirkt mit seinen 144 Mitgliedern sowohl im Orchestergraben als auch auf dem Konzertpodium. 2022 wurde der Klangkörper zum achten Mal in Folge in der Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift Opernwelt zum Orchester des Jahres gewählt.

Bedeutende Generalmusikdirektoren prägten als Musikchefs der Münchner Oper zu allen Zeiten den die hohe Qualität des Bayerischen Staatsorchesters.

Ebenso arbeiteten singuläre Dirigenten wie Ferenc Fricsay, Sir Georg Solti, Claudio Abbado, Ricardo Muti, Rafael Kubelik, Lorin Maazel, Karl Böhm und vor allem Carlos Kleiber prägend an der Bayerischen Staatsoper.

 

 
Joseph Keilberth
Wolfgang Sawallisch
Zubin Mehta
Kent Nagano
Kirill Petrenko
Vladimir Jurowski
Bayerisches Staatsorchester

Richard Strauss


Richard Strauss wurde 1864 in München geboren. Sein Vater war Hornist am Hof- und Nationaltheater in München; seine Mutter entstammte der Münchner Bierbrauer-Dynastie Pschorr (der auch Der Rosenkavalier gewidmet ist). Zu Beginn seines Künstlerlebens stand Strauss erstmals als Dirigent 1886 am Pult der Münchner Oper. Sein kompositorisches Schaffen war zunächst stark durch seine Bewunderung für Richard Wagner und Franz Liszt geprägt, weshalb man ihn der Spätromantik zurechnet. Frühe Tondichtungen der 1880er-Jahre u.a. Macbeth, Don Juan, Tod und Verklärung. Nach der Jahrhundertwende wendet sich Richard Strauss neben seinen Dirigiertätigkeiten verstärkt als Komponist der Oper zu. Mit der damals skandalösen Salome gelingt ihm 1905 ein erster außerordentlicher Erfolg. In dem österreichischen Dichter Hugo von Hofmannsthal findet Strauss in jener Zeit einen kongenialen Partner. Nach der ersten Zusammenarbeit (Elektra, 1909) wird Hofmannsthal die Libretti für weitere fünf Opern des Komponisten schreiben (u.a. für Der Rosenkavalier, Ariadne auf Naxos, Die Frau ohne Schatten, Arabella).

Der bürgerlich-konservative Mensch Richard Strauss ließ sich nach der Machtergreifung der Nazionalsozialisten (1933) als Künstler von den neuen Machthabern vereinnahmen und politisch gebrauchen. Der berühmteste deutsche Komponist wurde Präsident der Reichsmusikkammer, dirigierte in Bayreuth Wagners Parsifal (nachdem Toscanini aus Protest gegen die Nazis abgesagt hatte) und komponierte die Hymne zur Eröffnung der Olympischen Spiele in Berlin 1936. Nach dem Tod Hugo von Hofmannsthals suchte Richard Strauss einen neuen Librettisten. Er fand ihn in dem jüdischen Dichter Stefan Zweig, der den Text zur Oper Die schweigsame Frau (1935) schrieb. Diese Zusammenarbeit ließ ihn bei den Nationalsozialisten allerdings verdächtig werden.

Die komplexe Künstlerpersönlichkeit Richard Strauss verortete viele seiner Opernsujets in der Vergangenheit: Der Rosenkavalier spielt zur Zeit der Österreichischen Kaiserin Maria Theresia, Arabella spielt in Wien der 1860er-Jahre, Ariadne wiederum im Rokoko-Stil. Auch Richard Strauss’ letzte Oper Capriccio, ein „Konversationstück für Musik“, spielt im Rokoko. Capriccio wird 1942 im Münchner Nationaltheater unter der Leitung von Clemens Krauss uraufgeführt.

Ein steter Blick zurück, als Flucht aus und vor der Gegenwart? Innere Emigration in eine Welt von Gestern? Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg lebt Strauss zumeist in seiner Villa in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Zu seinen letzten großen Kompositionen zählen die Metamorphosen für 23 Solostreicher (1946) als Trauermusik auf das im Krieg zerstörte München und Vier letzte Lieder (1948). Richard Strauss stirbt 1949 in Garmisch im Alter von 85 Jahren.

Die Opern des Münchners und Weltbürgers Richard Strauss werden auf der Bühne der Bayerischen Staatsoper besonders gepflegt. Zu jeder Zeit stellt sich die Münchner Oper dem Strauss’schen Werk auf’s Neue und stellt ihm aktuelle Fragen – zu jeder Zeit fallen die Antworten, die Interpretationen in ihrer Ästhetik anders aus.

Inszenierungen

  1. 1937-02-01
  2. 1963-05-22
    1965-05-19
    1966-08-17
  3. 1971-05-05
    1972-05-16
  4. 1997-05-20
  5. 2008-05-14
  6. 2010-05-12
    2013-05-14
    2015-05-13
    2019-05-24
  7. 2021-08-25
Weiter
  1. 1937

    Ariadne auf Naxos

    Ankunft von Bacchus auf der wüsten Insel. Regie Rudolf Hartmann.

    © Hanns Holdt

  2. 1963

    Die Frau ohne Schatten

    Zur Wiedereröffnung des Münchner Nationaltheaters in der Regie von Rudolf Hartmann

    © Sabine Toepffer

  3. 1965

    Arabella

    Inszenierung Rudolf Hartmann mit Lisa della Casa als Arabella 

    © Rudolf Betz

  4. 1966

    Salome

    1966 inszeniert von Günther Rennert

    © Sabine Toepffer

  5. 1971

    Die schweigsame Frau

    Regie: Günther Rennert

    © Sabine Toepffer

  6. 1972

    Der Rosenkavalier

    Die „Kultinszenierung“ von Otto Schenk und Carlos Kleiber im Bühnenbild von Jürgen Rose(1972). Diese Produktion begeisterte in ihrer szenischen Opulenz fast 50 Jahre das Publikum.

    © Sabine Toepffer

  7. 1997

    Elektra

    Inszenierung Herbert Wernicke mit Marjana Lipovsek als Klytämnestra und Gabriele Schnaut in der Titelpartie

  8. 2008

    Ariadne auf Naxos

    Inszenierung Robert Carsen

    © W. Hösl

  9. 2010

    Die schweigsame Frau

    Regie: Barrie Kosky

    © W. Hösl

  10. 2013

    Die Frau ohne Schatten

    Eine exzeptionelle Interpretation des Regisseurs Krzysztof Warlikowski mit Kirill Petrenko am Pult.

    © W. Hösl

  11. 2015

    Arabella

    (Regie Andreas Dresen) mit Anja Harteros in der Titelpartie. Die Showtreppe blieb.

    © W. Hösl

  12. 2019

    Salome

    Verstörend klug in der Regie von Krzysztof Warlikowski. 

    © W. Hösl

  13. 2021

    Der Rosenkavalier

    Regie: Barrie Kosky, Dirigent: Vladimir Jurowski. Kluge Neuinterpretation!

    © W. Hösl

Ariadne auf Naxos
 

Ariadne auf Naxos: Zwei Werke stehen auf dem Programm. Ein lustig leichtes Singspiel und eine ernste große Oper. Aus Gründen von time management entschließt sich der Veranstalter, „der reichste Mann von Wien“, beide Stücke gleichzeitig zu spielen: Take two – pay one!

Die Künstler stehen nun vor der schwierigen Aufgabe das komödiantische „und“ das tragische Stück zur gleichen Zeit am selben Ort aufzuführen. Der Ort? Eine Insel, ihr Name Naxos: wüst, leer, unbewohnt.

Ist es dort also möglich, das lustige Intermezzo „Zerbinetta und ihre Liebhaber“ und die tragische Oper „Ariadne“ gleichzeitig zu spielen? Ja, wenn man muss. Der reichste Mann von Wien will es nämlich so. Er will Crossover! „Unterhaltung“ und „Ernst“ sollen gemischt werden – und es gelingt. Zur Freude des Publikums und zur Erkenntnis der Personen auf der Bühne.

Die Idee des Regisseurs der Inszenierung von Ariadne auf Naxos, Robert Carsen, ist so einfach wie plausibel: Die leere Bühne der Bayerischen Staatsoper ist die wüste Insel! 

Um die wüste Insel / Bühne bewohnbar zu machen, sie also mit Leben zu füllen, muss man auf ihr Theater spielen. Dafür greift Regisseur Carsen, genau wie die Figuren der Richard Strauss-Oper „Ariadne auf Naxos“ zu den Mitteln des Theaters: Erst durch Kulissen, Masken, Kostüme, Requisiten, durch Theaterblut und Künstlerschweiss wird eine leere Opernbühne zu einer Insel der Illusionen.

Jede leere Opernbühne müsste Naxos heißen, denn jede leere Opernbühne ist eine wüste Insel – Erst wenn man auf ihr spielt, egal ob Tristan und Isolde oder Wozzeck, ob Le nozze di Figaro oder La Traviata, erst dann  verwandelt sie sich zu einer „Insel der Illusionen“, zu einer Insel für Kunst und – manchmal – auch zur Insel einer besseren Realität.

 
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos
Ariadne auf Naxos