SAKUNTALA'S RING

How do you like this content?

35 Reactions

Sakuntala's Ring is a project by the Bayerisches Staatsballett, based on the Indian verse drama Sakuntala by the poet Kalidasa. This verse drama is one of the main sources of inspiration for the ballet classic La Bayadère by Marius Petipa. Seven illustrators were commissioned as part of the "Dance Digital" funding project to visually interpret one act each of Kalidasa's Sakuntala. Renu Hossain (RENU) created a sound design for this, using a recording of La Bayadère specially made by the Bayerisches Staatsballett. 

The Japanese stage and costume designer Tomio Mohri made an unconventional choice for the Munich production of La Bayadère in 1998. He combined Japanese woodblock prints, fairy tale elements, and motifs from classical ballet into a fantasy world. His interest in graphic art in Japanese art inspired the Bayerisches Staatsballett to create Sakuntala's Ring in illustrated form.

 

 

SAKUNTALA'S RING

 

KÜNSTLER:INNEN & TEAM

ACT 1: ALICE BLOOMFIELD

London-based artist Alice Bloomfield explores human emotions in her illustrated and animated works. Her linear, figurative style is reminiscent of manga with cool colors and rich compositions. She describes her art as "opulent, disturbing and shabby" and finds her inspiration in 70s interiors and anything dark and mysterious. While studying illustration at the University of Brighton, she discovered her love for animation and moving images. After graduating, she created the music video "As Is" for Puma Blue. She was then signed by Black Dog Films.

ACt 2: Gage Lindsten

Gage Lindsten is a visual artist, filmmaker and game designer from Chicago, Illinois.

ACt 3: Jiahuan Wang

Jiahuan Wang works as a freelance illustrator in Paris. She previously studied at the illustration department of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Belgium. In her illustrated world, she depicts stories of love and violence as well as hidden and intense fantasies that flow like a river of desire in daydreams, gentle yet powerful. She uses contrasting colors, delicate lines and soulful color gradients to create an intense emotional atmosphere.

ACt 4: Antoine Leisure

Antoine Leisure was born in 1993 in Nancy in north-eastern France. He grew up in Thionville, a small town in Lorraine near Luxembourg. In Paris, where he now lives and works, he studied graphic design, type design and editing. After completing his master's degree, he assisted various artists. He has been drawing for as long as he can remember and paints in his own studio. In 2021, he began exhibiting works in two group exhibitions in Paris. His work is created in the studio, painting on canvas and drawing at home for other people. He also creates visuals for artists, record covers and clothing brands in Japan, the United States, Germany, Australia and France.

ACt 5: Pete Sharp

Pete Sharp is an illustrator and animator from the West Midlands, UK. He graduated from Brighton University in 2013 with a degree in Illustration before relocating to South East London in the same year. There he worked as a printmaker, specializing in screen printing, and as a production technician for an industrial lithography press. In 2016, he began his animation career as an art director for a music video. Since then, he has directed a number of short animations and music videos. He has also contributed character design for the HBO series "Scavengers Reign". Pete's personal work explores everyday, real-life stories through vivid science fiction comics and animation.

ACt 6: Raman Djafari

Raman Djafari is an illustrator, animator and filmmaker working in both 2D and 3D. Currently he is based in Berlin, Germany. Through colorful imagery and fragmented narratives, he invents a realm of honest emotionality and idiosyncratic fragility in his work. He creates surreal worlds and characters that oscillate between the familiar and the fantastical. Raman has directed music videos for artists from around the world including Elton John, Dua Lipa and Ashnikko and collaborated with people and organizations such as Adult Swim, Medium and The New Yorker. He is currently represented as a director by London-based animation studio BlinkInk.

ACt 7: Masanobu Hiraoka

Masanobu Hiraoka is originally from Kyoto in Japan. He taught himself the craft of animation and graduated from Digital Hollywood University in Tokyo in 2006. He has been working as a freelance animator since 2010, pursuing his passion. He developed his own style, inspired by his personal animation projects based on metamorphosis and fluid movement, which he sets in an improbable reality. He has been responsible for numerous animation projects throughout his career. These include collaborations with artists such as Battles, Flying Lotus, Stephanie Gilmore and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Sounddesign

RENU (Renu Hossain) is a London-born interdisciplinary artist of Bengali origin. She lives in Berlin, London and Granada and works as a composer, producer, tabla player, percussionist and curator. She has worked as a percussionist for Grace Jones and other pop icons. She learned from percussion masters in India, Brazil and Cuba and creates compositions for dance, theater and film. RENU released her album "They Dance in the Dark" at the end of 2017 with great success. RENU is a tabla student of Sri Chiranjit Mukherjee (senior student of Kumar Bose) and follows the classical path of learning "Guru shisha parampara", which can be translated as "master-disciple journey". RENU is currently producing Filmy Electronica & Experimental impressions. The sound design of "Sakuntala's Ring" is based on a sound recording of "La Bayadère" with the Bayerisches Staatsorchester conducted by Michael Schmidtsdorff. The recordings were made in May 2023 at the Nationaltheater Munich.

 

BAYERISCHES STAATSBALLETT

The project was initiated by dramaturg Serge Honegger and realised together with artistic director Martina Borsche and Bureau Borsche. 

 

SUPPORTED BY

The project was supported by the Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien as part of the program NEUSTART KULTUR, aid program tanz:digital of the German Dance Association.

SAKUNTALAS RING

Wie gefällt Ihnen der Beitrag?

294 Reaktionen

Sakuntalas Ring ist ein Projekt des Bayerischen Staatsballetts, das auf dem indischen Versdrama Sakuntala des Dichters Kalidasa basiert. Dieses Versdrama gehört zu den wichtigsten Stoffquellen des Ballettklassikers La Bayadère  von Marius Petipa. Sieben Illustratorinnen und Illustratoren wurden im Rahmen des Förderprojekts Tanz Digital beauftragt, je einen Akt von Kalidasas Sakuntala graphisch umzusetzen. Renu Hossain (Künstlername RENU) schuf dazu ein Sounddesign unter der Verwendung einer eigens vom Bayerischen Staatsorchester unter der Leitung von Michael Schmidtsdorff aufgezeichneten Aufnahme von La Bayadère.  

Der japanische Bühnen- und Kostümdesigner Tomio Mohri hatte sich 1998 für die Münchner Produktion von La Bayadère für eine eigenwillige Gestaltung entschieden. Er verband japanische Druckgraphik, Märchenelemente und Motive aus dem klassischen Ballett zu einer Fantasiewelt. Sein Interesse an der Graphik in der japanischen Kunst stellte den Auslöser dar, Sakuntalas Ring in illustrierter Form umzusetzen.

SAKUNTALAS RING

 

KÜNSTLER:INNEN & TEAM

AKT 1: ALICE BLOOMFIELD

Die in London lebende Künstlerin Alice Bloomfield setzt sich in ihren illustrierten und animierten Werken mit menschlichen Gefühlen auseinander. Ihr linearer, figurativer Stil erinnert an Manga mit kühlen Farbtönen und reichen Kompositionen. Sie beschreibt ihre Kunst als „opulent, verstörend und schäbig“ und findet ihre Inspiration in kitschigen 70er-Jahre-Interieurs und allem, was dunkel und geheimnisvoll ist. Während ihres Studiums der Illustration an der Universität Brighton entdeckte sie ihre Liebe für Animation und bewegte Bilder. Nach ihrem Abschluss schuf sie das Musikvideo "As Is" für Puma Blue. Daraufhin wurde sie von Black Dog Films unter Vertrag genommen.

Akt 2: Gage Lindsten

Gage Lindsten ist ein bildender Künstler, Filmemacher und Spieldesigner aus Chicago, Illinois.

Akt 3: Jiahuan Wang

Jiahuan Wang arbeitet als freischaffende Illustratorin in Paris. Davor studierte sie an der Abteilung für Illustration der Königlichen Akademie der Schönen Künste in Belgien. In ihrer illustrierten Welt schildert sie Geschichten von Liebe und Gewalt sowie verborgene und intensive Fantasien, die wie ein Fluss der Begierde in Tagträumen fließen, sanft und doch kraftvoll. Sie verwendet kontrastreiche Farben, zarte Linien und gefühlvolle Farbverläufe, um eine intensive emotionale Atmosphäre zu schaffen.

Akt 4: Antoine Leisure

Antoine Leisure wurde 1993 in Nancy im Nordosten Frankreichs geboren. Er wuchs in Thionville auf, einer kleinen Stadt in Lothringen in der Nähe von Luxemburg. In Paris, wo er heute lebt und arbeitet, studierte er Grafikdesign, Schriftdesign und Edition. Nach seinem Master-Abschluss assistierte er verschiedenen Künstlern. Er zeichnet, seit er denken kann, und malt in seinem eigenen Atelier. 2021 fing er an, Werke in zwei Gruppenausstellungen in Paris auszustellen. Seine Arbeiten entstehen im Atelier, beim Malen auf Leinwand und beim Zeichnen zu Hause für andere Menschen. Zudem erstellt er Visuals für Künstler, Plattencover und Kleidermarken in Japan, den Vereinigten Staaten, Deutschland, Australien und Frankreich.

Akt 5: Pete Sharp

Pete Sharp ist ein Illustrator und Animator aus den West Midlands, Großbritannien. Er schloss 2013 sein Studium der Illustration an der Universität Brighton ab, bevor er im selben Jahr in den Südosten Londons umzog. Dort arbeitete er als Druckgrafiker, spezialisiert auf Siebdruck, und als Produktionstechniker für eine industrielle Lithografiepresse. Im Jahr 2016 begann seine Animationskarriere als Art Director für ein Musikvideo. Seitdem hat er bei einer Reihe von kurzen Animationen und Musikvideos Regie geführt. Ebenfalls hat er das Charakterdesign für die HBO-Serie "Scavengers Reign" beigesteuert. Petes persönliche Arbeit erforscht alltägliche, lebensnahe Geschichten durch lebendige Science-Fiction-Comics und Animationen.

Akt 6: Raman Djafari

Raman Djafari ist ein Illustrator, Animator und Filmemacher, der sowohl in 2D als auch in 3D arbeitet und zurzeit in Berlin, Deutschland, lebt. Durch farbenfrohe Bilder und fragmentierte Erzählungen kreiert er in seinem Werk ein Reich ehrlicher Emotionalität und eigenwilliger Zerbrechlichkeit. Er schafft surreale Welten und Charaktere, die zwischen dem Vertrauten und dem Fantastischen oszillieren. Raman hat bei Musikvideos für Künstler aus der ganzen Welt wie Elton John, Dua Lipa und Ashnikko Regie geführt und mit Leuten und Organisationen wie Adult Swim, Medium und The New Yorker zusammengearbeitet. Derzeit wird er als Regisseur von dem Londoner Animationsstudio BlinkInk vertreten.

Akt 7: Masanobu Hiraoka

Masanobu Hiraoka stammt ursprünglich aus Kyoto in Japan. Er brachte sich das Animationshandwerk selbst bei und schloss 2006 die Digital Hollywood University in Tokio ab. Seit 2010 ist er freiberuflich als Animator tätig und geht damit seiner Leidenschaft nach. Er entwickelte seinen eigenen Stil, inspiriert von seinen persönlichen Animationsprojekten, die auf Metamorphosen und fließenden Bewegungen basieren, und die er in einer unwahrscheinlichen Realität ansiedelt. Er war im Verlauf seiner Karriere für zahlreiche Animationsprojekte verantwortlich. Dazu gehört die die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern wie Battles, Flying Lotus, Stephanie Gilmore und Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Sounddesign

RENU (Renu Hossain) ist eine in London geborene interdisziplinäre Künstlerin bengalischer Herkunft. Sie lebt in Berlin, London und Granada und arbeitet als Komponistin, Produzentin, Tabla-Spielerin, Perkussionistin und Kuratorin. Für Grace Jones und andere Pop-Ikonen war sie als Perkussionistin tätig. Sie lernte von Perkussionsmeistern in Indien, Brasilien und Kuba und schafft Kompositionen für die Bereiche Tanz, Theater und Film. Mit großem Erfolg veröffentlichte RENU ihr Album "They Dance in the Dark" Ende 2017. RENU ist eine Tabla-Schülerin von Sri Chiranjit Mukherjee (Seniorschüler von Kumar Bose) und folgt dem klassischen Weg des Lernens „Guru shisha parampara“, was sich als „Meister-Schüler-Reise“ übersetzen lässt. RENU produziert derzeit Filmy Electronica & Experimental impressions. Dem Sounddesign von "Sakuntalas Ring" liegt eine Tonaufnahme von "La Bayadère" mit dem Bayerischen Staatsorchester unter der Leitung von Michael Schmidtsdorff zugrunde. Die Aufnahmen wurden im Mai 2023 im Nationaltheater München realisiert.

BAYERISCHES STAATSBALLETT

Das Projekt wurde initiiert von Dramaturg Serge Honegger und gemeinsam mit Bilddramaturgin Martina Borsche und Bureau Borsche umgesetzt. 

FÖRDERER

Das Projekt wurde gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR, Hilfsprogramm tanz:digital des Dachverband Tanz Deutschland.