JA, MAI - The Festival 2022

JA, MAI - 5/18-22 to 5/29-22

Extreme human situations are the focus of the first edition of Ja, Mai, the new festival of the Bavarian State Opera, which will perform the contemporary operas Bluthaus and Thomas by Georg Friedrich Haas and Händl Klaus. Haas' stage works revolve around deeply existential themes such as death, love, family ties and psychological trauma. With their musical theater, the composers succeed in turning our gaze to the innermost human feelings, making the pain as well as the tenderness of emotional states both empathetic and relentlessly tangible.

Ja, Mai will be dedicated to early and contemporary musical theater every May beginning with the 2021/22 season. It refers to the beginnings of musical theater in the late 16th century and links yesterday, today and tomorrow. The beginnings of opera enter into a dialogue with today's music-theatrical perspectives. The core idea of the new festival is contemporaneity, the localization of music theater in the present. At the same time, the festival traces connections between contemporary music theater and other genres and art forms such as spoken theater, visual arts and dance, and enters into partnerships with Munich's art and cultural institutions. For the first edition, the Bavarian State Opera is cooperating with the Munich Kammerspiele, the Residenztheater and the Munich Volkstheater, combining the sound worlds of Georg Friedrich Haas with music by Claudio Monteverdi.

I do not write a theater of cruelty. I write a theater of love.

- Georg Friedrich Haas 

Koma, along with Bluthaus and Thomas, is the third work in the Schwetzingen Trilogy by Georg Friedrich Haas and Händl Klaus created between 2011 and 2016, will be performed in conjunction with Monteverdi's Il combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda in the third edition of Ja, Mai in May 2024 in cooperation with the Münchner Kammerspiele and the Münchner Volkstheater at the new Volkstheater.

FESTIVAL PROGRAM JA, MAI

 

In addition to the two operas by Georg Friedrich Haas in conjunction with compositions by Claudio Monteverdi, the Ja, Maifestival combines a dense program: two concerts, a reading and a film series with four films by Händl Klaus and Georg Friedrich Haas and his music. The works are contextualized by the program and the artists themselves have their say. The festival program revolves around themes such as mourning and night, love and death, forms of relationships and structural racism. The whole festival Ja, Mai becomes a moment of contemporary music-theatrical creation and reflection on art that is current, relevant and absolutely necessary.

 

Film series at the Theatiner Filmtheater

INTRODUCTIONS AND DEBRIEFINGS

BLUTHAUS:
Introductions: 25, 26, 28 and 29.05.22 / 30 minutes before the performance / Cuvilliés-Theater
Follow-up discussion with participants of the production: 25.5.22 / After the performance / Cuvilliés-Theater

THOMAS:
Introductions: 25, 27 and 29.05.22 / 60 minutes before the performance / Birdie

JA, MAI - Roadmap

Tickets for JA, MAI - The Festival 2022

Written advance orders will be processed beginning March 21, 2022.
Tickets can be purchased online from April 21, 2022 via our schedule or below in the program via the ticket links. In addition, our box office and call center are at your service:

Bayerische Staatsoper Box Office
[email protected] 
+49 89 21 85 19 20
Opening hours: Mon - Sat, 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. 

All JA, MAI-Dates

JA, MAI – Das neue Festival

Ja, Mai  – 18.5.22 bis 29.5.22

Menschliche Extremsituationen stehen im Zentrum der ersten Ausgabe von Ja, Mai, dem neuen Festival der Bayerischen Staatsoper, das die zeitgenössischen Opern Bluthaus und Thomas  von Georg Friedrich Haas und Händl Klaus zur Aufführung bringt. Haas‘ Bühnenwerke kreisen um zutiefst existenzielle Themen wie das Sterben, die Liebe, familiäre Bindungen und seelische Traumata. Dem Komponisten gelingt es, mit seinem Musiktheater den Blick ins Innerste menschlichen Fühlens zu wenden und so den Schmerz genauso wie die Zartheit emotionaler Verfasstheiten einfühlsam und gleichzeitig schonungslos erfahrbar zu machen.

Ja, Mai widmet sich ab der Spielzeit 2021/22 jedes Jahr im Mai frühem und zeitgenössischem Musiktheater. Es bezieht sich auf die Anfänge des Musiktheaters im ausgehenden 16. Jahrhundert und verknüpft gestern, heute und morgen miteinander. Die Anfänge der Oper treten in einen Dialog mit heutigen musiktheatralischen Perspektiven. Kerngedanke des neuen Festivals ist Zeitgenossenschaft, die Verortung von Musiktheater in der Gegenwart. Gleichzeitig spürt das Festival Verbindungen von zeitgenössischem Musiktheater zu anderen Genres und Kunstformen wie Sprechtheater, bildende Kunst und Tanz nach und geht mit Münchner Kunst- und Kulturinstitutionen Partnerschaften ein. Für die erste Ausgabe kooperiert die Bayerische Staatsoper mit den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Residenztheater und dem Münchner Volkstheater mit und verbindet die Klangwelten von Georg Friedrich Haas mit Musik von Claudio Monteverdi.

Ich schreibe kein Theater der Grausamkeit. Ich schreibe ein Theater der Liebe.

- Georg Friedrich Haas 

Koma, neben Bluthaus und Thomas das dritte Werk der zwischen 2011 und 2016 entstanden Opern von Georg Friedrich Haas und Händl Klaus, wird verbunden mit Monteverdis Il combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda in der dritten Ausgabe von Ja, Mai im Mai 2024 in Kooperation mit den Münchner Kammerspielen und dem Münchner Volkstheater im neuen Volkstheater zur Aufführung kommen.

FESTIVALPROGRAMM JA, MAI

Das Festival Ja, Mai vereint neben den zwei Opern von Georg Friedrich Haas in Verbindung mit Kompositionen von Claudio Monteverdi ein dichtes Programm: zwei Konzerte, eine Lesung und eine Filmreihe mit vier Filmen von Händl Klaus und Georg Friedrich Haas und dessen Musik. Die Werke werden durch das Programm kontextualisiert und die Künstler kommen selber zu Wort. Das Festivalprogramm kreist um Themen wie Trauer und Nacht, Liebe und Tod, Beziehungsformen und strukturellen Rassismus. Das ganze Festival Ja, Mai wird zu einem Moment zeitgenössischen musiktheatralen Schaffens und des Nachdenkens über Kunst, die aktuell, relevant und absolut notwendig ist.

Filmreihe im Theatiner Filmtheater

EINFÜHRUNGEN UND NACHGESPRÄCHE

BLUTHAUS:
Einführungen: 25., 26., 28. und 29.05.22 /  30 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn / Cuvilliés-Theater
Nachgespräch mit Beteiligten der Produktion: 25.5.22 /  Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung / Cuvilliés-Theater

THOMAS:
Einführungen: 25., 27. und 29.05.22 /  60 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn / Birdie

JA, MAI - Stadtkarte

Karten für Ja, Mai – Das Festival 2022

Schriftliche Vorbestellungen werden ab 21. März 2022 bearbeitet.
Karten können Sie ab 21. April 2022 online über unseren Spielplan oder unten im Programm über die Ticket-Links kaufen. Außerdem stehen Ihnen unsere Tageskasse und unser Call Center zur Verfügung:

Tageskasse der Bayerischen Staatsoper
[email protected] 
+49 89 21 85 19 20
Öffnungszeiten: Mo – Sa, 10.00 – 19.00 Uhr 
 

Alle JA, MAI-Termine im Überblick

In diesem Zeitraum gibt es keine Vorstellungen