05:00 pm | Nationaltheater

WAR AND PEACE (Voyna i mir)

Sergej S. Prokofjew



WAR AND PEACE (Voyna i mir)

Composer Sergej S. Prokofjew. Libretto by Sergei S. Prokofiev and Mira A. Prokofyeva after the novel of the same name by Lev N. Tolstoy.

Opera in 13 pictures (1946)

A co-production with the Gran Teatre del Liceu, Barcelona

recommended for 16 years and older

In russian language. With english and german surtitels. New Production.

A colossal work beyond all previous boundaries, Sergei S. Prokofiev's monumental setting of Leo N. Tolstoy's epic novel, War and Peace. The composer and his wife Mira have compressed the plot, set during Napoleon's Russian campaign, into a powerful sequence of scenes in which the love story between Natasha Rostova and Andrei Bolkonsky and the description of the Russian army's fight against the French invasion alternate in rich contrast, and at the same time are closely interwoven. How the arrogance of the old, ossified nobility stands in the way of the happiness of two young people, how a seduction succeeds and a kidnapping fails, how some renounce their love and others fall as heroes – and in all the pomp and circumstance each searches for a companion. All is related by the music in its fullness of splendid themes and touchingly quiet moments. Prokofiev's musical-dramatic masterpiece combines social drama and historical chronicle in its 13 scenes to form an exuberant panorama. The opera will now be performed in Munich for the first time ever.


  • Bayerisches Staatsorchester
  • Chorus of the Bayerische Staatsoper


Video on Demand zu Krieg und Frieden


To the podcast

To the podcast

Observations to War and Peace

Discover Behind the scenes

Trailer to War and Peace

To the trailer

To the podcast